Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: advice on motor, cheap radio etc for first springer build  (Read 5384 times)

tim_uk

advice on motor, cheap radio etc for first springer build
« on: June 28, 2009, 09:03:47 pm »

I finally got round to trying my springer hull in some water today and as it didn't sink despite the inclusion of two house brinks, the next step for me is to get a motor and some radio equipment.

What are my best bets for these bits as this is my first attempt at modelling/radio control - some of the radio units and speed controllers seem really expensive compared to the price you can buy toy r/c helicopters and the like for. Grateful for any advice.

SteamboatPhil

• Full Mayhemer
Re: advice on motor, cheap radio etc for first springer build
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2009, 09:17:11 pm »

All you need is a basic 2 channel set (either 27 or 40 meg) Lots of adverts in Model Boats Magazine, you should be able to get a set for around £35-00, for all the other bits try the traders section here, you'll need a motor (obvious really) a 540 type with coupling shaft and prop, rudder (*-bay maybe) and a speed controller (action electronics)
and you'll be ready to "Spring" into action with the rest of us--welcome to the expanding world of the Springer  :-)) :-))
Steamed up all the time

craftysod

« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2009, 09:25:17 pm »

You can get the motor from maplins,
the esc from ebay,from £9 + p+p
radio gear go for 2.4ghz,as you can go straight to water and not interfere
 with anyone else
Put what motor you want in it,as long as its not used for competition,my missus has a 6oo type motor in hers

But the faster the speed the more they dive,good fun tho
Mark

andygh

« Reply #3 on: June 28, 2009, 10:30:21 pm »

Buy ebay speed controllers at your peril, I bought 2, both went in the bin

FullLeatherJacket

« Reply #4 on: June 28, 2009, 10:49:25 pm »