Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Which yacht kit?  (Read 3484 times)

das boot

Which yacht kit?
« on: July 04, 2009, 07:20:04 am »

Which of these two kits would be the better buy for an absolute novice to r/c yachting? (I did have a Lesro 575 many many years ago, that's the extent of my yachting expierience)

OR

Rich

gyronuts

Re: Which yacht kit?
« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2009, 09:30:21 am »

hi,
   I have  just procured a Graupner Micro magic which although smaller than the ones you are looking at, is compact and fits in the back seat of your car. Sails great. .Bill
see http://magicmicro.org/news.php

derekwarner

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #2 on: July 04, 2009, 10:12:37 am »

mmmmmm .... I am sure 'gyronuts' ...intended to suggest that he.... purchased... a Graupner Micro magic ...rather than the term procured   the said item & then went on to talk about the size on the back seat of a car <:( <:( <:( ...when the Oxford Concise confirms that his original term relates to ......'to obtain [women] for.........prostitution'

Not nice for a family boating fraternity WEB site.... %%  :police:.....I rest my case for the defence ...........Derek  O0 {-)

Derek Warner

Honorary Secretary [Retired]
Illawarra Live Steamers Co-op
Australia
www.ils.org.au

malcolmfrary

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #3 on: July 04, 2009, 10:21:14 am »

According to posts on other boards,such as RCGroups, the ETNZ needs a LOT of work to make it into a good go-er.
I've just been playing with a second hand TT Victoria, and having sorted the rigging out to pretty much what the instructions say, it makes a really well behaved boat with good predictable handling in a wide range of conditions.  Its 30" long and will sit in the rear footwell fully rigged (OK I have a Scenic, but theres lots of headroom left over) and weighs less than 5 lb.
Lots of good reports about the Graupner Micro Magic as well.