Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Some help with a trumpeter 1/144 kilo conversion please...  (Read 3726 times)

Duncan

Some help with a trumpeter 1/144 kilo conversion please...
« on: July 19, 2009, 04:53:34 pm »

Hi there all.

I am completely new to rc submarining, I do however have quite a lot of experience with radio control aircraft and cars i am a complete 'scale nut' so I endeavor to make my models as accurate as I possibly can. I have purchased a trumpeter kilo in 1/144 scale with view to converting it to RC. I am making my own WTC and ballast tanks etc. as I want it to be a complete home build, (I'm also on a budget!). there are some pictures below, one is of a test float in the bath, ballasted with AA batteries!, another is of the top half of the hull I have some questions that I hope you will be able to answer for me;

For the WTC I am going to put some bulkheads into the hull and have a stainless steel ring (no expense spared here!) with an airtight neoprene-rubber gasket and a 'lid' or acrylic bolted through the gasket at regular intervals (thinking every 25mm - 35mm). I understand that this is deferent from the usual way of doing things but I can see no reason why it should not work, can you?

I have calculated that the WTC will displace about 1l of water (1kg), how much ballast will I need to take on to allow the submarine to submerge? I have acquired two veterinary syringes for horses! both at 6oml so to make a total together of 120ml or 120g. will these be enough? I was going to operate these by 'adapting' a servo to drive some M3 thread bar through a nut attached to the head of the syringes' piston is this an appropriate method of taking on ballast? Given the natre of the WTC as i take on ballast the air pressure will rise slightly (about 10% for a 100ml tank) inside the WTC will this cause the air to escape and the sub to stay submerged?