Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Engine Query From Another Newbee  (Read 2065 times)

Baz2

Engine Query From Another Newbee
« on: August 23, 2009, 01:17:50 pm »

Hi all
    I am fairly new to boat building but I have ,dare I mention it, built a Slo-Mo-Shun, yet to see the water.

I have been following Ramon's Atlas van Lines hydro build, and was thinking of having a go at building one myself. The plan shows an electric motor but how do you decide
    what size of I C glo engine to use?, is there a formula or is it just boating experience/know'how.

The Atlas van Lines is a 42" X 21" hydro and I was wondering what range of I C glo engines would be suitable. I don't wont to break the world speed record
    but would like a good speed.

Ramon is using an OPS 60 but I am not sure where this would come in the the range of engines suitable for this size hydro.

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks Baz

Ramon

Re: Engine Query From Another Newbee
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2009, 02:29:43 pm »

Baz - Hi

For what it's worth  - I came by the OPS 60 by chance - when I found the Astec site and the free drawings I just felt that this would be a good combination based on what I wanted to do thirty years and more ago.

It would appear that this size of boat is very popular in the States and the class -1/8 scale hydros - recognises a max capacity of a '67'