Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: EMAIL ATTACHMENTS FILES PDF/CAD  (Read 2176 times)

Seaspray

• Full Mayhemer
  • Model Boat Mayhem is the best model boat site
EMAIL ATTACHMENTS FILES PDF/CAD
« on: September 19, 2009, 09:01:40 am »

Hi
Got an email the other day and it had two types of attachments, PDF and CAD.

While I can work with the PDF file which was opened and sent to My Pictures also put on to C.D.

The CAD is a little out of my league, as I've no cad experience. Will the CAD file be exact same as the PDF file in everyway or would it be a better drawing. I take it  I would need CAD on the computer to open it. I don't know what CAD programme it is but do they all work together. For instance would  one CAD programme open another CAD  files/drawings.

Seaspray

dodgy geezer

• Full Mayhemer
Re: EMAIL ATTACHMENTS FILES PDF/CAD
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2009, 10:14:19 am »

I know little about the field, so in my mind that qualifies me to have an opinion.....

I think there are many CAD programs, each trying to increase market share. Each of them use a proprietry file format (though there are open source CAD programs as well). In order to get market share, each CAD program will usually read several competitor's formats, and output in a few other formats apart from their proprietry one. The most comon 'standard' format is .DFX, which most programs will read, and which is often used as an 'interchange standard'. CAD programs will usually output as JPG or PDF as well.

A CAD format is usually a 'better' drawing - you can do more with it, but only if you've got the right CAD software. And CAD software, even the easiest, can be a little hard to learn how to use. If you just need a standard print, .PDF is fine and you can ignore the .CAD. If you want to alter the drawing or play with it, you will need to use the .CAD software.