Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Lead acid charging  (Read 5753 times)

lukehallbland

Lead acid charging
« on: August 11, 2009, 02:03:55 am »

I might be being stupid but this is my first time charging a lead acid battery and I'm a bit worried.

The battery is a new 9AH 12V cell being charged by an Ansmann Xbase Deluxe computer charger with the initial current of 3.4A set as mentioned on the battery, though this has been reduced to a value that fluctuates between about .3A and 1A. The charger is stating that the current voltage of the sell as it's charging is now 14.5V to 14.8V and it's making a faint fizzing noise. Is this what would be expected or is something wrong?

barriew

• Full Mayhemer
Re: Lead acid charging
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2009, 07:43:50 am »

If the current has dropped, it probably means that the cell is charged and the charger is now maintaining a trickle charge. Remove it from the charger and check the voltage. It should be in the order of 13.5v after its settled.

Barrie

Colin Bishop

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2009, 08:58:44 am »

If it is  a sealed lead acid It shouldn't be fizzing which suggests that it is venting from being overcharged. The 14.5 volts you are seeing is probably coming from the charger rather than the battery. As Barrie says, when fully charged and settled (leave it an hour or so) the battery voltage should be around 13.5v.

Colin

Shipmate60

• Global Moderator
  • Full Mayhemer
  • You bark - I will bite!!!
« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2009, 09:09:29 am »

The MAX charge on a Gell Cell is 1/10 the capacity, so you are overcharging it.

Bob
Officially a GOG.

FullLeatherJacket

« Reply #4 on: August 11, 2009, 10:19:57 am »

The MAX charge on a Gell Cell is 1/10 the capacity, so you are overcharging it.
Bob