Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Advice from you "old hands" please.  (Read 2719 times)

Firebod-7

Advice from you "old hands" please.
« on: November 22, 2009, 12:18:46 pm »

Hello, I am new to this forum and so you have some idea of my situation I will tell you a little about myself. I am a retired London Fireman, I am 62 years old. I have my own woodworking workshop and have built a couple of wooden boats before. My partner would love a radio controlled tug. She is from South Shields so I thought a Tug that had worked the Tyne would be great. The kit I am looking at is the "Joffre" by Caldercraft. I have no experience working with the new sorts of plastics that seem to be used. The fiberglass hull I have no worries about. I have seen different views about this kit and would be glad of any opinions from you builders out there. I have looked at all of the kits on the UK market and was keen on the chaps who make the Tyne tug kits. But I want to keep the length of the hull to around 750cm. I build and fly model helicopters so the electrics and radio system are not a problem. Any help will be gratefully received, thanks Richard.

Shipmate60

• Global Moderator
  • Full Mayhemer
  • You bark - I will bite!!!
Re: Advice from you "old hands" please.
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2009, 12:35:19 pm »

Firebod-7
The "Joffre" by Caldercraft is quite a good first tug kit.
She sails well and looks good on the water.
If I remember correctly most of the superstructure is wooden too.

Bob
Officially a GOG.

John W E

• I see no ships !!
  • Full Mayhemer
« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2009, 12:41:28 pm »

hi there Firebod-7