Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Gas Feed Question?  (Read 1870 times)

Underpressure

Gas Feed Question?
« on: January 23, 2010, 11:08:30 am »

Here's one for you guys, and before anyone gets into tanks freezing up and such, I have been running steam plants in model boats since 1990 and have NEVER had a gas tank or gas feed pipe FREEZE. Cold yes, freeze no.

So, to the question. I am currently (slowly) building a Mountfleet River Queen, into which I am installing a little SVS plant. Layout dictates that the gas tank is going to be in front of the boiler (towards the bow) and the burner is at the back of the boiler (near the stern). I have a choice of three possible pipe runs to get the gas to the burner: 1) Under the boiler. (2) Alongside the boiler (3) Over the top of the boiler. All of these could impart some heat / warmth to the gas pipe, depending how close I run the pipe to the boiler, but which will be the most beneficial and are any likely to be detrimental, causing the gas to vaporize and possibly lock?

Your thoughts please gentlemen.

Neil

Bunkerbarge

• Full Mayhemer
Re: Gas Feed Question?
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2010, 11:59:05 am »

I don't ever actually remember seeing any comments about tanks freezing, I think you would have problems long before that happens.

However tanks cooling enough to affect the saturation vapour pressure and hence the burner performance, I've seen that happen.

Just a thought and no more, one concern with the under the boiler route I would have would be that I wouldn't be able to see the pipe to inspect it's condition.
"Dirty British coaster with a salt-caked smoke stack, Butting through the Channel in the mad March days"

Underpressure

« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2010, 02:39:32 pm »

BB, good point about the pipe.