Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: HMS Eagle plans - 4 motors - New member seeking assistance  (Read 3431 times)

peeldy

HMS Eagle plans - 4 motors - New member seeking assistance
« on: March 05, 2010, 09:40:44 am »

Hi
I have just joined the forum and am currently scrathbuilding a 6ft plus model of the aircraft carrier HMS Eagle (1940) which was converted from a Chilean battleship.
I have been building models boats for about 30 years but to be honest I enjoy building more than I do sailing them and have thrown a number of boats away not long after they were built and given their maiden voyage as w there was not much space to store them when completed.

Eagle is a brute of a model and I haven't yet figured how I am going to get it into the back of my car to take it to the local pond to sail it but the good thing about model making is that you have to adapt to every problem you come across. May take a time for the grey matter to get there now but it will come eventually.

This is my first model with 4 screws and it is my intention to run all four but would welcome some pointers on setting this up , ie how many speed controllers etc and the best engines to use . The model is going to weigh about 15 - 20 kilos and it has 4 x 25 mm , 3 bladed brass props to keep in scale with the actual size of the props which were on the real ship. 

The ship is being built from the actual admiralty plans which were purchased from the NMM as I couldn't find model plans for her anywhere. As far as I am aware, no one has built this ship  before as I have scoured the internet but couldn't find any other models but would be interested if anyone knows of another.
Thanks. Great to be here {:-{

Martin (Admin)

• Administrator
  • Full Mayhemer
    • Model Boat Mayhem
"This is my firm opinion, but what do I know?!" -  Visit the Mayhem FaceBook Groups!  &  Giant Models

RickF

• Full Mayhemer