Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: AHT 'AZIZ'  (Read 11382 times)

chris holley

  • Guest
AHT 'AZIZ'
« on: May 09, 2010, 11:26:00 PM »

I NO ITS A REPOST BUT I PUT IN WRONG PLACE SORRY {:-{

Well i got the tug from a friend an iam now  Very Angry with my self should have looked 1st before i paid an got her home...

the deck looks ok no really work just a bit off glue here an there an the front an rear fenders need to be put on  Happy an as for deck clutter WoW tyres off a 1/10 monster truck??

but the real job, the wiring ive got more wire than an electrical shop?, wire from the motors will wrap around the boat, there is wire from some where to some where  , an every end is diffrent, an more fuses than my car?

one light works dont get me started on those wires.

i pulled it around with a smaller tug just to see what it was like an took on more water than the titanic  Shocked

needs to escs an radio, i was told. 150 i paid i was ROBBED

  Tickoff Tickoff Tickoff

Iam just very very    now
Logged

Martin [Admin]

  • Administrator
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19,415
  • Location: Peterborough, UK
    • Model Boat Mayhem
Re: AHT 'AZIZ'
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2010, 08:49:53 AM »

Is it just a rewire job or does the boat need any more work?
Logged
"This is my firm opinion, but what do I know?!"    -   Mayhem FaceBook Group!

DickyD

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9,497
  • www.srcmbc.org.uk
  • Location: Southampton UK
    • SRCMBC
Re: AHT 'AZIZ'
« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2010, 08:53:07 AM »

Sounds like a Martin purchase. Play your cards right and Martin will buy it off you. ok2
Logged
Richard Solent Radio Controlled Model Boat Club http://www.srcmbc.org.uk

Martin [Admin]

  • Administrator
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19,415
  • Location: Peterborough, UK
    • Model Boat Mayhem
Re: AHT 'AZIZ'
« Reply #3 on: May 10, 2010, 09:02:00 AM »

True but "Oi!"   <*<
Logged
"This is my firm opinion, but what do I know?!"    -   Mayhem FaceBook Group!

Tug-Kenny

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7,671
  • Location: Newport. S Wales
Re: AHT 'AZIZ'
« Reply #4 on: May 10, 2010, 11:16:37 AM »


Hi Chris

The AZIZ is a lovely boat. I and many others on here have built one.

Could you put up some pictures, please, so that we can see your problems.  There aint nothing that can't be fixed so don't worry. We will all try to help and advise you get her back into shape.

Cheers

ken


Logged
Despite the high cost of living   .......... It remains popular

FullLeatherJacket

  • Guest
Re: AHT 'AZIZ'
« Reply #5 on: May 10, 2010, 11:49:07 AM »

Chris
This should do you for starters.
http://www.action-electronics.co.uk/pdfs/Aziz%20-%20Chris%20Holley.pdf
Circuits A and B are optional so leave 'em off if you just want it to go forwards, backwards and sideways.
Suit yourself.
BTW the Aziz kit is getting on for three hundred quid, so if you got the model and two motors + couplings for half that then it's not really a bad buy.
FLJ
Logged

Number 6

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,275
Re: AHT 'AZIZ'
« Reply #6 on: May 10, 2010, 03:56:26 PM »

A bit off the subject but I got a bargain Aziz on ebay last month,unstarted kit except for shafts fitted. Complete with 2x geared motors,bow thruster,3x esc,decent brass props-160-couldn't believe it!! My bargain of the year so far!!! O0 O0 O0
Logged

chris holley

  • Guest
Re: AHT 'AZIZ'
« Reply #7 on: May 10, 2010, 05:12:06 PM »

martin it will be a rewire job, motors look older than me ;), an a bit off rust. i looked at my FE boat if i plug the motor into a speed controller, i should not need the fuses???

an the deck needs a bit off work i think, a few parts have come unstuck. an the lights need attention.
Logged

chris holley

  • Guest
Re: AHT 'AZIZ'
« Reply #8 on: May 10, 2010, 05:13:06 PM »

ooo yea ill get some pictures up soon just got in from work
Logged

chris holley

  • Guest
Re: AHT 'AZIZ'
« Reply #9 on: May 10, 2010, 06:51:53 PM »

ok so here are some pics the blue an red i have now taken out, they were not connected but held in with cable ties.








is it sitting right,







an the water is coming down the port shaft, well it feels wet now only 10mins
Logged

Umi_Ryuzuki

  • Guest
Re: AHT 'AZIZ'
« Reply #10 on: May 10, 2010, 07:23:28 PM »

I don't think your are so bad off... a little bit of fresh grease in the stuffing tubes, and
maybe shorten up a few power leads and it should be a nice running ship.

:)
Logged

chris holley

  • Guest
Re: AHT 'AZIZ'
« Reply #11 on: May 10, 2010, 07:47:09 PM »

but i dont no what the blue an red ones are for {:-{
Logged

DickyD

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9,497
  • www.srcmbc.org.uk
  • Location: Southampton UK
    • SRCMBC
Re: AHT 'AZIZ'
« Reply #12 on: May 10, 2010, 08:07:47 PM »

Whats the problem ?
Rip out all the wiring and start again.
You ask FLJ, I know nothing about wiring but with his help it will be a cake walk to get it up and running.

Yes you do need fuses with an ESC.
Logged
Richard Solent Radio Controlled Model Boat Club http://www.srcmbc.org.uk

Tug-Kenny

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7,671
  • Location: Newport. S Wales
Re: AHT 'AZIZ'
« Reply #13 on: May 10, 2010, 08:09:13 PM »

The words  "Sheep's Guts"  comes to mind.    ok2

Your best bet is to remove all the wiring as Dicky says, and start again using FLJ's drawing.

I would, however keep the 2 wires connected to the bow thruster motor as this might be difficult to rewire back in, and any that go to a lighting system. Put sticky tape on the ends of the wires so that you know where they come from. All the other wires look a bit jumbled and excessive, as UMI has noted, so best start again.

By the time you have followed the new wires, you will be much more familiar with the workings of your boat.

The motor looks to have rusted !!  The prop tubes could be greased when you replace the motors so don't worry about leakages yet.

Hope this helps

Ken

Logged
Despite the high cost of living   .......... It remains popular

chris holley

  • Guest
Re: AHT 'AZIZ'
« Reply #14 on: May 10, 2010, 08:16:24 PM »

Ok well ill make a start on the weekend as iam busy this week  >>:-( >>:-(

but the lights in the superstructure need to be sorted an theh lights on the front deck mast dont work at all <:(

Logged

Shipmate60

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5,320
  • You bark - I will bite!!!
  • Location: Fareham
Re: AHT 'AZIZ'
« Reply #15 on: May 10, 2010, 09:05:45 PM »

Chris,
Is that the model from Gosport that was on ebay recently.

Bob
Logged
Officially a GOG.

Tugwilson

  • Guest
Re: AHT 'AZIZ'
« Reply #16 on: May 10, 2010, 09:13:14 PM »

you think thats a lot of wiring take a look at this birds nest.



It's my 1:40 scale H.M.S. Suprise

Tugwilson
Logged

chris holley

  • Guest
Re: AHT 'AZIZ'
« Reply #17 on: May 10, 2010, 09:14:49 PM »

 %% %%

wires everywhere
Logged

chris holley

  • Guest
Re: AHT 'AZIZ'
« Reply #18 on: May 10, 2010, 09:31:59 PM »

just taken it out off the bath, she had 10ml off water in not bad for 3 hours off sitting around
Logged

Number 6

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,275
Re: AHT 'AZIZ'
« Reply #19 on: May 10, 2010, 09:36:05 PM »

but i dont no what the blue an red ones are for {:-{
I'd rip it all out and start again. At least you'll know what's what, probably easier than messing about trying to figure it all out. It's all good fun?!? ;)
Logged

chris holley

  • Guest
Re: AHT 'AZIZ'
« Reply #20 on: May 10, 2010, 09:40:04 PM »

iam no good at that
Logged

riggers24

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 449
  • Just full of stupid questions
Re: AHT 'AZIZ'
« Reply #21 on: May 10, 2010, 10:45:39 PM »

iam no good at that
I hadn't wired a model up the first time, have a look at the wiring diagram for the aziz from ACTion and break it down in to the different parts. Maiin motors first then the bow thruster followed by the rest. Personnally I would junk the wire and buy new silcone wire from the  [ur]lhttp://www.component-shop.co.uk/[/url] and use the ACTion gear listed.

Remember there isn't a stupid question.
Logged
I will finish the crash tender someday - Still got tooo many toys to play with

chris holley

  • Guest
Re: AHT 'AZIZ'
« Reply #22 on: May 10, 2010, 10:47:39 PM »

true, i just need a 4ch radio am ideas cheap :}
Logged

riggers24

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 449
  • Just full of stupid questions
Re: AHT 'AZIZ'
« Reply #23 on: May 10, 2010, 10:56:37 PM »

Have yourself a look on eBay, is there a brand you prefer?
Logged
I will finish the crash tender someday - Still got tooo many toys to play with

chris holley

  • Guest
Re: AHT 'AZIZ'
« Reply #24 on: May 10, 2010, 10:59:28 PM »

Futaba, mainly abutmay get this 2.4, just dont no what they go for
Logged
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up