Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: newbie!  (Read 2042 times)

hulldown

newbie!
« on: July 23, 2010, 10:23:25 pm »

Hi everyone, another newbie here, just launched so to speak. Always wanted to build ships, never got round to it, seen some great builds on this and other sites and decided to go for it. I used to build model aircraft and anything else that took my fancy, but always had a desire to build a warship. My favorite ships are the Russian cold war ones and I'm desperately trying to find some 1/100 scale plans of a Krivak. So, if anyone knows where I can get some from, I will be eternally grateful.

Mike

Peter Fitness

• Global Moderator
  • Full Mayhemer
Re: newbie!
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2010, 11:50:08 pm »

Welcome to the forum, Mike. Yet another cross over from aeromodelling, as I was  O0

There's plenty of information here, all you need to do is ask.

Peter.

Perkasaman2

• Full Mayhemer
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2010, 02:14:45 am »

Hi hulldown, the Ruskies biult some handsome sleek ships during this era........... not sure about their quality control though.  :}

Prophet

« Reply #3 on: July 24, 2010, 11:53:59 am »

This isnt a plan of the boat your want but rather a link to a site where one guy has built the one step by step.  Prehaps this will help with your build for refrence
I do think that maybe 1/100 scale will be way to big unless you intend to do a split hull and have a van to move it around in prehaps try it in 1/200 or 1/250 scale may be more pratical since this will be your first attempt in making a war ship.
Welcome to the forum always nice to see fresh faces

Prophet

Main build link

http://www.shipmodels.info/mws_forum/viewtopic.php?f=49&t=34726&sid=ed85bb053d2810f56783edb60b647b48

photo refrence of a 1/700 model
http://www.steelnavy.com/SkywaveKrivakJC.htm

hulldown