Model Boat Mayhem - Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: 'Wire' rope  (Read 2127 times)

flag-d

  • Guest
'Wire' rope
« on: April 26, 2006, 10:19:54 PM »

Simple (just like me!) idea to make 'wire' rope.  Use a non-hairy cord of the appropriate size for this.  Coil it into a pot of suitable coloured paint (Tamiya acrylic metallic grey looks OK) and leave to soak for a few minutes.  Gently pull the cord from the pot, running it between a pair of cocktail sticks to clean most of the surface paint off.  Hang up to dry.  Put a weighted peg or similar on the free end and it will dry nice and straight.  This can then be cut and used as 'wire' rope and seems to remain pliable too.

Mike
Logged

Dave Leishman

  • Guest
Re: 'Wire' rope
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2006, 10:32:07 PM »

Nice tip Mike - maybe you should have used 'malechickentail stick' to avoid the dreaded censor though ;D
Logged

Bryan Young

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6,894
  • Location: Whitley Bay
Re: 'Wire' rope
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2007, 07:45:27 PM »

If you REALLY need real wire rope then use 5 amp fuse wire. Tie one end to a peg in the vice then unreel it for about 6 feet and loop it around a hook in a hand-drill. Keep looping until you get the number of strands (or thickness) you want. Turn the drill until the whole lot becomes "stiff". Hey Presto..wire rope.
Logged
Notes from a simple seaman

kendalboatsman

  • Guest
Re: 'Wire' rope
« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2007, 07:58:45 PM »

Hello,

Fishing trace wire as used by pike and sea fisherman is another good substitute.

Clive
Logged

RickF

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 918
  • Black, white and buff - not grey!
  • Location: Norfolk UK
Re: 'Wire' rope
« Reply #4 on: February 26, 2007, 08:00:25 PM »

I just strip the insulation off a bit of multi-strand copper wire, reduce the number of strands to what I need, then give it a bit more twist.

Rick
Logged

Colin Bishop

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10,231
  • Location: SW Surrey, UK
Re: 'Wire' rope
« Reply #5 on: February 26, 2007, 08:17:16 PM »

Old guitar strings if you're that way inclined! Different thicknesses too.
Logged

Wetwater

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 340
  • My mind often wanders. Once it left completely.
  • Location: Aldershot Hampshire
Re: 'Wire' rope
« Reply #6 on: February 26, 2007, 11:46:22 PM »

Stranded picture hanging wire.  Cycle brake cable.  Probably not too flexable though and might be too large in diameter.
Depends on the size of the model and what the cable is to be used for.
Logged
Alan.
Pages: [1]   Go Up