Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: transmitters  (Read 1465 times)

regiment

  • Guest
transmitters
« on: August 06, 2010, 08:00:59 pm »

thinking of getting 2.4 tx  which is the best value  planet or giant cod how about servos for them thanks
Logged

poddy

  • Guest
Re: transmitters
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2010, 08:12:09 pm »

The  giant cod one needs 8 batteries. I think the planet req's just 4. Also I don't know about the planet, but the giant cod one has no failsafe setting, so throttle sets to zero on loss of signal. I.e. full reverse on a forwards/backwards esc.

I could be wrong on the second point, but that's the way it read to me.

A plus point is that the giant cod one is much better to use than it looks. It was a nice weight and feel to it.
Logged

DickyD

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9,497
  • www.srcmbc.org.uk
  • Location: Southampton UK
    • SRCMBC
Re: transmitters
« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2010, 08:32:08 pm »

Gordon the Planet one is better made and appears to be the more popular.

Malcolm at Cornwall Model Boats reckons he is selling approximately 12 a week.
Logged
Richard Solent Radio Controlled Model Boat Club http://www.srcmbc.org.uk

billa65t

  • Guest
Re: transmitters
« Reply #3 on: August 07, 2010, 07:03:49 pm »

Hi Gorden,
                My son and I both have Planet transmitters and have had them since Christmas and between the two of us  we run sevenboats off them and have not had any problems at all. They run off 4 batteries and last for ages the receivers are cheap and have small aerials only about an inch long and we have had no interference or signal loss problems.In standard form they come with the throttle on the right ( IE it returns to neutral) but you can either swop the spring and arm over to the left hand side or buy a replacement from Cornwall model boats for 1.75 ( which they hold in stock ) . We run Scale ,fast electric and yachts with ours and as i have said haven't had any problems.
Hope this helps
regards Bill :-)) 8)
Logged

Shipmate60

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5,480
  • You bark - I will bite!!!
  • Location: Fareham
Re: transmitters
« Reply #4 on: August 07, 2010, 07:23:15 pm »

Bill I have to say I am exactly the same with the Giant Cod set, 2 Transmitters and 8 receivers with no problems.
It seems just whichever one you prefer.

Bob
Logged
Officially a GOG.

regiment

  • Guest
Re: transmitters
« Reply #5 on: August 08, 2010, 01:07:41 pm »

thanks to all who replied but what type of sevoes to use any speciel ones
Logged

Shipmate60

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5,480
  • You bark - I will bite!!!
  • Location: Fareham
Re: transmitters
« Reply #6 on: August 08, 2010, 01:10:16 pm »

I use Futaba servos as I bought a load from servo shop a while ago.

Bob

Logged
Officially a GOG.

barriew

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,094
  • Location: Thaxted, Essex
Re: transmitters
« Reply #7 on: August 08, 2010, 03:46:34 pm »

Any servos. I am using Futaba, Hitec and Towerpro and they all work!

Barrie
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up