Model Boat Mayhem - Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: WTC Layout  (Read 3220 times)

gingyer

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,509
  • Location: Glasgow
WTC Layout
« on: September 25, 2010, 08:58:52 PM »

Hi All,
I am looking for some guidance I am seting up a WTC for a sheerline Trafalgar.
when the motor starts the servos go crazy with the interferance the motor has been fitted with capasitors

the only thing jumping out at me is that the ESC is an old Electronize one with a large relay sticking out and the reciever is mounted on the reverse
side of the tray  {:-{

I am looking for some suggestions I am toying with the idea of swaping the ESC for another type

thanks

Colin
Logged

Subculture

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,887
  • Location: North London
    • Dive-in to Model submarines
Re: WTC Layout
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2010, 11:40:13 AM »

Does the ESC incorporate a BEC?

gingyer

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,509
  • Location: Glasgow
Re: WTC Layout
« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2010, 11:42:33 AM »

yes it does
Logged

ajg141

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 90
  • Location: Edinburgh
Re: WTC Layout
« Reply #3 on: September 26, 2010, 06:34:11 PM »

Colin - that is the same set up that is in my Trafalgar and I eventually had similar problems. The same thing occured on my Bruggen UB-16 althought that has an M-Troniks esc. After discussion with some AMS members I fitted a Schulze Rx and that cured the problem. They don't come cheap but it sorted my problems.
I got mine from Engel as I hadn't a clue who sold them here!
Andrew
Logged

John W E

  • I see no ships !!
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8,504
  • Location: South shields
Re: WTC Layout
« Reply #4 on: September 26, 2010, 06:48:54 PM »

Hi ya there Colin

May I ask the obvious - I wonder - have you switched the BEC off on your electronic speed controller?  The little orange and red wires which come out of the BEC should go to a switch or be twisted together - and obviously plugged in a separate RX supply to see if this cures the problem.

I myself have encountered a similar problem, with Electronize speed controllers whilst using a SANWA radio - I eventually found it was a naff servo which was giving me all the grief.

Lastly, have you tried moving your RX away from your speed controller to see if that cures the problem.   

I bet you have tried all the obvious things?  But cant think of anything else at the moment.

aye
john e
bluebird
Logged

gingyer

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,509
  • Location: Glasgow
Re: WTC Layout
« Reply #5 on: September 26, 2010, 07:31:01 PM »

spent a while on this today  {:-{ {:-{

changed the ESC used both with and without the BEC.....no difference

moved the receiver and ESC away from each other.......slight difference but back to the same after a few minutes

changed the radio gear from my old 40MHz to 2.4Ghz (I know it wont work underwater BUT it will at least let me know my radio isn't at fault)
the interference was still here but not as bad

had a careful look at the motor............new motor being ordered.....
it is a speed 500 on a gearbox although it is all fitted with a supresion kit the inside is flashing like mad and there is rust on the casing

Hopefully this will sort it  %)

Thanks for all the input and I may of missed something totally obvious so will let you know the outcome  :-))

Andrew, All going well it may be at the next sub day in Edinburgh you have but I will still bring my frigate to hunt the other subs  :embarrassed:
Logged

gingyer

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,509
  • Location: Glasgow
Re: WTC Layout
« Reply #6 on: September 26, 2010, 07:55:05 PM »

Hi Andrew
I had a look at the schultze receiver that you suggested but it would mean a
new radio system as my 40Mhz ones are all Hitec dual conversion will try all others first
Logged

malcolmfrary

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5,551
  • Location: Blackpool, Lancs, UK
Re: WTC Layout
« Reply #7 on: September 26, 2010, 08:54:45 PM »

Hi Andrew
I had a look at the schultze receiver that you suggested but it would mean a
new radio system as my 40Mhz ones are all Hitec dual conversion will try all others first
A dual conversion RX should just need a different crystal to a single conversion type.   Of course, if more than one company offers dual conversion types you can safely bet your best mates favourite brown boots that they will both need different crystals. The dual conversion type picks up the exact same signal from the transmitter, it just handles it rather differently to reduce unwanted signal by tuning in much tighter.  If the motor was churning out enough interference, no amount of suppression is going to cure it.  Skimming the commutator and re-bedding the brushes would probably work, but mending it with a new one is probably the most reliable option.
Quote
.slight difference but back to the same after a few minutes

Probably indicates the motor warming up and generating interference more enthusiastically with run time.
Logged
"With the right tool, you can break anything" - Garfield

gingyer

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,509
  • Location: Glasgow
Re: WTC Layout
« Reply #8 on: September 26, 2010, 09:07:29 PM »

Thanks Malcolm
new motor is ordered and hopefully that will solve it

Colin
Logged

gingyer

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,509
  • Location: Glasgow
Re: WTC Layout
« Reply #9 on: September 30, 2010, 10:36:22 PM »

Hi All,
Managed to swap over the motor and everything seems
to be working correctly with out any problems

looks like it has solved the problem

thanks to all the help
Colin
Logged

dgp1957

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 119
  • Location: Greenock
Re: WTC Layout
« Reply #10 on: September 30, 2010, 10:56:41 PM »

Guys getting back to the dual conversion Rx crystals, I have a dual conversion synthesised Rx for my sub, do I need a dual conversion crystal in my Tx?
Logged

gingyer

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,509
  • Location: Glasgow
Re: WTC Layout
« Reply #11 on: September 30, 2010, 10:58:18 PM »

I believe so davie
Logged

dgp1957

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 119
  • Location: Greenock
Re: WTC Layout
« Reply #12 on: September 30, 2010, 11:02:02 PM »

Ahhhh that solves the problem, at the weekend I tried the Rx with my F16 but only had a normal crystal in it, and the Rx could lock onto it  :-))
Logged

mattycoops43

  • Guest
Re: WTC Layout
« Reply #13 on: September 30, 2010, 11:46:04 PM »

I didn't think you could get a dual conversion Tx crystal? I thought it was only Rx, and Tx were all the same? Feel free to correct me!
Logged

Peter

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 119
  • Model Bioat Mayhem Forum is theBest!
  • Location: Rosyth, Fife
Re: WTC Layout
« Reply #14 on: October 01, 2010, 07:02:21 AM »

Tx xtals are all the same, it is only the Rx xtal that is different for dual conversion systems.

Peter
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up