Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: ul-1 power  (Read 2393 times)

piker

ul-1 power
« on: September 29, 2010, 06:39:40 pm »

hi guys, i have just bought a one of these  http://www.aquacraftmodels.com/boats/aqub20-ul1-superior/index.html    "minus batteries."

i know nothing at all about electrics.  i,m a complete newbie and know nothing   would these batteries listed below.  [scroll down the ebay page]   be ok. 

thanks in advance  paul

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=140457086021&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT

andrewh

• Full Mayhemer
Re: ul-1 power
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2010, 11:14:59 pm »

Paul,

Reasonable question :}  Looks like a vivid boat!  Where do you aim to run it?

The reference you gave says:

Requires: (2) 7.4V, 3200mAh LiPo batteries & 4 "AA" alkaline batteries.

I guess that the 4 AAs are for the transmitter.
Forgive me if I am teaching you to suck eggs - but a bit of explanation of the "bits" of this might be helpful to others, if not to you :}
7.4 V is code for two Lithium Polymer (LIPO) cells in series, ie their voltage adds up to 7.4volts
3200mAh is the capacity (size of the fuel tank) and 3200 mAh means milliAmp hours. 
So this is the same as 3.2Amp Hours
So (at the very simplest level) they will supply 3.2 Amps for one hour or 32 Amps for 1/10 Hour or any other combination that multiplies to 3.2
UP TO the safe limit of thos particular LiPo cells  - which is expressed as something like C30 or x30  - this means they can safely be discharged at 30 times the nominal 1-hour rate (in this case 3.2Amps)
So if you got 3.2Ah cells rated at C30 they could be discharged at 30 x 3.2 Amps or about 90Amps

Right - now what is the required current for your boat?  It has a 60A speed controller so the max current must be equal or less - say 50A
Which would be equivalent to about 20C or x20 - which is a "normal" type of LiPo