Model Boat Mayhem - Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: switching on lights etc with a 2 channel r/c  (Read 1037 times)

RODDERS

  • Guest
switching on lights etc with a 2 channel r/c
« on: November 14, 2010, 11:27:11 AM »

I intend to have a 2 channel system .1 for rudder..1 for motor..
  Is it poss to use a latching relay or somesuch in the circuitry somewhere to turn on lights etc,when a servo is operated?
    Thanx
Logged

Watchleader

  • Guest
Re: switching on lights etc with a 2 channel r/c
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2010, 11:35:20 AM »

Hi Rodders
The answer is YES
Simplest is to set a microswitch (change over type, or latching type if you prefer) so that extreme rudder movement with operate it, using the arm on the servo or on the rudder post (Not the rudder itself of course) :D
Obviously dont try it at full motor speed,   <:( <:(  in fact when stationary is best!! :-)) :-))
I used one of those cheap little press on/press off plunger type switches.
Good luck
Logged

barriew

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 2,007
  • Location: Thaxted, Essex
Re: switching on lights etc with a 2 channel r/c
« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2010, 01:31:04 PM »

You can also get electronic switches which will work with a quick blip on the steering servo. Blip on - blip off.

Barrie
Logged

Circlip

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,737
  • Location: North of Watford, South of Hadrians wall
Re: switching on lights etc with a 2 channel r/c
« Reply #3 on: November 14, 2010, 02:54:46 PM »

G. Sommerhoff  "Radio Control for Models"   :-))

   Regards  Ian.
Logged
You might not like what I say, but that doesn't mean I'm wrong.
 
What I said is not what you  think you heard.

dougal99

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,915
  • Huntingdon, Cambs, England
  • Location: Huntingdon, England
Re: switching on lights etc with a 2 channel r/c
« Reply #4 on: November 14, 2010, 04:10:40 PM »

I used the twin switcher works ok for me

http://www.action-electronics.co.uk/switches.php


Usual disclaimer
Logged
Don't Assume Check
Pages: [1]   Go Up