Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: RNLI Severn repairing & sorting: misc Q's  (Read 2970 times)

UserError

RNLI Severn repairing & sorting: misc Q's
« on: December 06, 2010, 01:19:10 pm »

Hello,
Not sure if this should go in the RTR conversions but I'm new to RC boats, having been skirting round the edges for some while.  I have just acquired a Severn for my daughter who has always wanted one but not old enough till now....when you cant buy them new!

Anyway, this one has some faults (despite being described as "a good example".  Harrumph) and I would appreciate any help in rectifying these:

The deck edge has cracked over about 7cm & the outer edge is missing for 35mm, going in beyond the water seal.  Question is - what glue to repair the cracks - is the model styrene?  If so, nice & easy.  I have attached a pic, somewhat blurry but the damaged can still be seen.

I was hoping to rebuild the missing section with epoxy filler stuff (would have thought the grey stuff used by Phil in his conversion would suit (http://www.philsrcmodels.co.uk/images/graphics/babysevern003.jpg) - can anyone advise on something suitable?

I was intending in the medium term to convert it properly, but now propelled into it immediately (before Christmas) and have a few Q's about the process:
Can I run 2 motors from 1 ESC?  We're looking at small motors for a reasonably sedate pace for my nipper although a bit of improvement over standard would be OK.
With a view to keeping the weight down and being on a budget, can I do better than a 6xsubC from a buggy?  If I use AAs will the run time be too short?

Any help is would be very gratefully received.
Thanks
J

gribeauval

• Full Mayhemer
  • Tidy Bench -Tidy Mind, Messy Bench - BUSY!!
Re: RNLI Severn repairing & sorting: misc Q's
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2010, 03:15:57 pm »