Model Boat Mayhem - Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Lights on Kites  (Read 1341 times)

Big Ada

  • Guest
Lights on Kites
« on: January 03, 2011, 04:50:32 PM »

Once a year when its dark the Kent Kite Flyers do a charity Night Fly with lit up kites.
Would it be possible to run a set of LED Christmas Lights off of a Battery ?. The set I have has a plug in transformer. I tried a 12v battery but the LEDS didnt light up, any ideas ?.

Len.
Logged

john s 2

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,184
  • Location: Southend on Sea Essex
Re: Lights on Kites
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2011, 04:58:05 PM »

My local pound shop was selling 20 led lights prewired with battery box and switch for 1 B&q and Do it all were also selling similer
items but not as cheaply. John.
Logged

roycv

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,271
  • Location: S.W. Herts
Re: Lights on Kites
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2011, 07:07:01 PM »

Hi I would think with lithium cells, the little ones, the whole thing would be very light.

 Perhaps strip down a 7 LED torch from the pound shop, this has a flasher function on it as well.
regards Roy
Logged

grasshopper

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 739
  • Location: Lincolnshire!
    • A1 Hobbies Ltd.
Re: Lights on Kites
« Reply #3 on: January 03, 2011, 09:10:40 PM »

it's possible that the transformer output is 12v AC and not DC - the rectification could be in the harnessing.
Logged

malcolmfrary

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5,529
  • Location: Blackpool, Lancs, UK
Re: Lights on Kites
« Reply #4 on: January 04, 2011, 10:06:45 AM »

Is it a 12 volt transformer?
Is there a control box in the wiring?  Like grasshopper says, the rectifier might live in there, and the control box might need AC to work.
Logged
"With the right tool, you can break anything" - Garfield

Netleyned

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8,945
  • Location: Meridian Line, Mouth of the Humber
    • cleethorpes mba
Re: Lights on Kites
« Reply #5 on: January 04, 2011, 10:29:32 AM »

There should be a specification panel on the transformer giving the output details. If it has a CE mark!

Ned
Logged
Smooth seas never made skilful sailors
Up Spirits  Stand fast the Holy Ghost.
http://www.cleethorpesmba.co.uk/

tigertiger

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6,967
  • Location: Kunming, city of eternal springtime, SW China.
Re: Lights on Kites
« Reply #6 on: January 04, 2011, 11:30:24 AM »

I could be wrong, but unless the Xmas lights come with a transformer they may be 240v.
And even with transformer the output may be over 12v.

12v would then not be enough push to light the LED.

What I have seen is Xmas fairy wands with LEDs in a plastic snowflake running off 3v.

You could buy some LEDs from any electronics supplier. The white and blue are 3v and other colours are 2v. You may need a few resistors to solder in series to the 2v LEDs. A simple parallel circuit for each should be easy to bodge rig. Then all you need is a 3v power supply.

scuff the LEDs with sand paper and the light will be visible from all angles, not just head on. Some LEDs are already treated for this.

BTW you can also get flashing LEDs.
Logged
The only stupid question is the one I didn't ask

Guy Bagley

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,221
  • Location: thames valley
Re: Lights on Kites
« Reply #7 on: January 04, 2011, 12:18:06 PM »

at the hop farm show last september there was a bloke with some giant kites, these had LED lighting on them, they were microprocessor controlled and the lighting sequence was all pre grogrammed in !-the whole ' driver unit and battery' were on the kite - they were amazing, so it can be done...


there are plenty of people selling  led strips ( component shop had them at warwick) these can be run from a 12 volt supply,   so i am sure a smaller more simple display is possible too
Logged
all in all its just another brick in the wall......
Pages: [1]   Go Up