Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1] 2 3 4   Go Down

Author Topic: Weighty matters and cente of gravity Ticonderoga class Aegis cruiser  (Read 22731 times)

El Neave

Apologies for any howlers-  This is my first posting and my first howl.  Advice from "those who know better" would be welcome indeed.
I have been building a 1/96 Ticonderoga for the past 20 months.  I have reached the point where without the knowledge from others, ambition
risks being thwarted!  Amazingly so.  Question; how much lead or lead shot would one have to put along the centre line to prevent
the wretched vessel capsizing due to its inordinate top hamper?  If anyone has any idea, or has built this ship, say how many pounds
or better still kilogrammes since I live in France, should I align on the centre line to avoid ignominy and the scoffing of the locals,
in the event of trying to sail it in say a 10 knot wind? 

Any advice welcomed with a gratitude born of desperation!

El Neave.

DickyD

• Full Mayhemer
  • www.srcmbc.org.uk
    • SRCMBC
Re: Weighty matters and cente of gravity Ticonderoga class Aegis cruiser
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2011, 08:33:52 am »

The only real way to do this is to put the completed boat in water along with installed batteries and then ballast it down to the waterline.

The ballast should be kept low and if possible fixed to the hull sides rather than keel. This will help to prevent roll. Weight in the middle of the hull acts like a yacht keel and your boat will rock and roll.
Richard Solent Radio Controlled Model Boat Club http://www.srcmbc.org.uk

derekwarner

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #2 on: February 04, 2011, 08:52:46 am »

El Neave ...please re-read the experienced words provided by DickyD  :-)).......the second sentence is of particular importance  O0 ....

So simple.......but if you have any question....just ask.....Derek
Derek Warner

Honorary Secretary [Retired]