Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Glossary of RC Model Boat components  (Read 5459 times)

Kleban

Glossary of RC Model Boat components
« on: February 05, 2011, 01:51:02 pm »

I am a novice at this hobby, having only joined this forum two days ago. What I’m searching for is a glossary of RC Model Boat components; servo, speed controller, etc.

I have used the search / advanced search facility, however I cannot find what I’m looking for. Can anyone point me in the direction as to where I can research this information?

Thanking you in advance.

Netleyned

• Full Mayhemer
    • cleethorpes mba
Re: Glossary of RC Model Boat components
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2011, 02:02:18 pm »

http://www.modelboatmayhem.co.uk/

Kleban
Have you tried the main mayhem site as opposed to the forum
Lots of info of all sorts on the site

Yours Aye

Ned
Smooth seas never made skilful sailors
Up Spirits  Stand fast the Holy Ghost.
http://www.cleethorpesmba.co.uk/

tigertiger

• Global Moderator
  • Full Mayhemer
« Reply #2 on: February 05, 2011, 02:07:13 pm »

I have found that one of the easiest things to do is ask when you have a specific question.

Sometimes the definition of a term is just more jargon. Or just leads to another question.

There are good sources for specific information in some fields, like electrics. But no in others, like 19th century ships rigging. And often terms are misused as synonyms for something they are not.

Luckily Mayhem is a good place to ask questions. And if you are lucky you will get two or three different answers to choose from :o
The only stupid question is the one I didn't ask

Roadrunner

« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2011, 12:06:54 pm »

A list of 'common Rc items'

Electric Motor :- converts electricity to mechanical work.

Two different types in this group.