Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: setting up a workshop  (Read 2042 times)

davidmichael

setting up a workshop
« on: March 12, 2011, 02:26:24 pm »

Hello, I'm new to this forum. I'm also new to model ship building. I've been scratch building model  for many years. Just display, not r/c. All were built with hand tools. Now I am able to set up a real workshop. I want to be able to cut my own wood instead of buying it. I'm not sure what type of saw would be best for cutting thin sheets of pine or oak between 1/16 and 1/8 inch. I'm not sure a table saw's rip fence would be able to get that close to the blade. I know I'd need a special blade. Another thought was to get a band saw. I've allready decided to get a scroll saw, but would I be able to make the same cuts on a band saw as I would on a scroll saw? I'm also getting a bench type sander and drill press. Besides drilling, I think I can rig it for turning out parts in place of a lathe. If anyone has any advise I'd appreciate it. Thanks, david

longshanks

• Full Mayhemer
Re: setting up a workshop
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2011, 04:21:01 pm »

Hi David,

Quite a few people recommend Proxxon Tools

http://www.proxxon-direct.com/acatalog/Tabletop_Tools___Accessories_Woodworking.html

Full details on this site - then look at Amazon for prices  ok2

PMK

« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2011, 07:52:32 pm »

"I'm not sure a table saw's rip fence would be able to get that close to the blade."