Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: first time RC modeller.  (Read 1753 times)

fatboysink

first time RC modeller.
« on: March 24, 2011, 01:35:02 pm »

Hi,

I have been making Models since i was young and have been toying with the idea for several years to build an RC boat. I think it was moving to house that is only 1 row of houses from a lake which finally swung it for me.

I have static kit of the Yamato in 1/350 scale i have been saving for such an occassion. I wonder what are the inherent difficulties in converting it into a vessel capable of sailing on a usually calm sheltered lake.

my main concerns are:

waterproofing the hull to stop instant sinking.
stoping the ingress of water whilst under way to prevent slow painful sinking.
The installation of RC, making holes in hull for propulsion(leading to stealth sinking)
I have no experience of any kind of RC installions and would appreciate pointing to the absolute idiots guide(hmm this seems to lack the fear of sinking)

any help or advice at all will me hugely appreciated.

dodgy geezer

• Full Mayhemer
Re: first time RC modeller.
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2011, 02:03:33 pm »

my main concerns are:

waterproofing the hull to stop instant sinking.
stoping the ingress of water whilst under way to prevent slow painful sinking.
The installation of RC, making holes in hull for propulsion(leading to stealth sinking)
I have no experience of any kind of RC installions and would appreciate pointing to the absolute idiots guide(hmm this seems to lack the fear of sinking)

to answer your questions

1 - you stop it sinking by waterproofing the hull and adding polystyrene foam as buoyancy.

2 - if you can't easily waterproof a hatch you might elect to seal everything inside and just have a single drain hole and a socket to recharge the batteries...