Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Why overspeed tests are done!  (Read 2811 times)

boatmadman

• Full Mayhemer
if at first you dont succeed.....have a beer.....

gwa84

Re: Why overspeed tests are done!
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2011, 12:00:58 am »

all you can say to that is oops  <*<

CGAux26

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2011, 02:25:39 am »

In my career as a machinery engineer I saw several destructive overspeeds of steam turbines.  Fortunately no one hurt in any of them.  None of ours are anywhere the size of this one.  Stress in rotating parts is proportional to the square of the speed, so 120% speed equates to 144% stress.  Typically turbines are tested to their overspeed trip limits of 110% uncoupled.  The steam inlet block valve is opened very slowly, just enough to bring the machine to trip speed.  If the shutdowns don't work, you stop and find out why, then test again.

flashtwo

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2011, 10:20:00 am »

Hi,

I had a colleague who was at the Uskmouth Power Station in Wales in the 1960s, when the turbine stop valves failed to close on overspeed due to a disconnection from the National Grid. The cause was found to be sea water contamination in the valves hydraulic system.

He had been standing with a workmate by the turbine only 5 minutes before the turbine broke apart. He , luckily, had walked to another machine when all hell broke loose but his mate was killed.

He always carried a photo in his wallet of the H.P. turbine laying in the mud a mile away in the estuary!

With the large base-load turbo-generators, which run for years without stopping, provision is made for on-load valve testing, where typically there are four pairs of stop/governor valves. This enables the valve mechanisms to be tested one by one with only a partial load loss and gives confidence that they would close in an emergency.