Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Advice re Unimat 6 in 1  (Read 14733 times)

pugwash

Advice re Unimat 6 in 1
« on: April 24, 2011, 08:57:12 pm »

I am no engineer and am never going to build a steam engine or anything technical  like that, but my good lady has offered
to buy me a unimat 6 in 1 lathe (wood and soft metal) jigsaw, milling machine, sander and drill for my birthday.
I know it isn't up to the standard of a Proxxon or anything like that but as I at present make my models with a dremel type
drill or a scalpel it would be a quantum leap forward for me. Quite honestly a Proxxon would be wasted on me as I have never
used a lathe since school.
For making up small parts in wood, brass or acrylic would you recommend Yes or No as a purchase

Thanks
Geoff

Shipmate60

• Global Moderator
  • Full Mayhemer
  • You bark - I will bite!!!
Re: Advice re Unimat 6 in 1
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2011, 09:02:55 pm »

Yes if you will use it.
No if it will be an expensive ornament!!

Bob
Officially a GOG.

AT Boatyard

« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2011, 09:44:28 pm »

Hi Geoff,i would say no.They are alot of money for what they are,and not alot of good.
I have one, used it and found it unsafe to use.
Best keep an eye on ebay for the tools you need.
I would say one tool for one job,and one tool for every job
kind regards
AT

snowwolflair

« Reply #3 on: April 24, 2011, 09:58:14 pm »

Dont touch it with a barge pole.

Look at the Axminster C0 mini lathe if thats what you need.

Colin Bishop

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #4 on: April 24, 2011, 10:17:42 pm »

I've had one for years but hardly ever use it, I'm not engineering minded!

If you are going to have a lathe at all then I would agree with snowwolflair, get a proper miniature one. 

Colin

Wetwater

• Full Mayhemer
  • My mind often wanders. Once it left completely.
« Reply #5 on: April 24, 2011, 11:08:39 pm »