Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Plank on Frame Construction  (Read 4997 times)

Boatbuilder2011

Plank on Frame Construction
« on: May 05, 2011, 09:00:12 pm »

Hi there I'm trying to get some advice, I have never built a rc boat before but have raced rc cars for the past ten years and built loads of tamiya plastic kits, my dad on the other hand has built loads off rc boats but I want to build either billings mary Ann or the billings crab cox, my dad has said that they are a very difficult boat to build as the back end of the hull meets together in 3 different ways and is very hard to convert to rc, the thing is I have been looking around and are the Plank on Frame Construction kits really that hard to build

deadbeat

Re: Plank on Frame Construction
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2011, 09:20:43 pm »

I've built two plank on frame static boats, Sergal's HMS President and HMS Racehorse both around £60ish. They are not suitable for rc conversion but they are a good intro to plank on frame, and they make fine models. Both are double planked with lime and walnut. Planking is a very time consuming method but a very satisfying way of building a hull. For a working boat making it watertight would be an issue you would need to think hard about.

You will need some plank bending tools, there's several on the market, and for the difficult curvatures soaking or steaming planks will be needed.  Good luck.

tobyker

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #2 on: May 05, 2011, 09:53:46 pm »