Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Vanguard Launched.....Finaly!  (Read 4617 times)

bonehead

• Full Mayhemer
Vanguard Launched.....Finaly!
« on: March 27, 2011, 08:34:05 pm »

Hi! My name is Jim, I live in Cambridge and this is one of my first posts so I hope it is uderstandable! I'm also fairly new to the submarine scene and it's been a steep learning curve, to say the least, but it hasn't put me off at all!
This is my first effort at a sub since I built a Robbe U47 many years ago, which I converted to a static diver with an Engel 750mm tank. I sold that but always hankered after a nuke with a pumped tank. I then discovered the OTW Vanguard hull and fell in love with it's unusual shape and decided that was the one for me,along with their dive unit. This is the finished result after many hours of trimming and a change in battery from a 12v 4.4amp to a 12vv 3.3amp - this helped imensely with stopping the bow from a suicide dive that could not be relieved if I was to get a true to life (as near as) water line. I could not get a battery set under the tank as it is a snug fit in the hull and only has a 5mm clearance under it. I used a bit of titanium that I got a friend to machine up for the bow planes link and brass for the rear's... setting those up was like papering the hall through a letter box. The lettering for the hull was done with BECC white letters and coloured with the appropriate felt pen and excess wiped off and the result pleased me anyway. I got the water line reference from various actual photos and the colour from a shot taken in dry dock of one going through refit.... very dirty so I toned it down a bit as it was too extreme for me!