Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Advice Required  (Read 2957 times)

Baz

Advice Required
« on: May 12, 2011, 02:14:07 pm »

Hi all,
Sorry if this post is in the wrong place but I am new to Mayhem and finding my feet so to speak.

Can anyone help me with the following please?.

I have started to build a 1:32 scale chant, The problem is I have no idea what type/size of electric motor to put in her. The model specs are
Length 56 inches - Beam 10 inches - Weight 30ILb. The prop size will be 50mm Dia but again I have no idea of what pitch to use to match the motor help with this if possible would be appreciated please.

Thanks in advance.

Broken Neck

unbuiltnautilus

• Portsmouth Model Boat Display Team
  • Full Mayhemer
Re: Advice Required
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2011, 03:50:08 pm »

I am working on a civvy 1/32 CHANT at the moment, it is driven by a single MFA Torpedo 800, 12 volt motor via a 50mm prop. It uses a 12v 7amp gel battery and should give me a run time approaching 2 hours.
Listen politely, nod approvingly, then do what you want, works for me!

Baz

« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2011, 09:58:44 pm »

unbuiltnautilus,

Thanks for the reply and info on your models running gear, it will help me a lot. Mine is the armed WWII version and I'm hoping to use water ballast in the position of the front and rear tanks, with the batteries in the midship area.

Hope all goes well with your build.

Broken Neck

Baz

« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2011, 01:37:15 pm »

unbuiltnautilus

Sorry forgot to ask you whose prop you are using and if possible the part number?.
Thanks again for your help

Broken Neck

Nordsee

« Reply #4 on: May 13, 2011, 01:41:08 pm »

Pardon my ignorance, but what is a Chant?

Roadrunner

« Reply #5 on: May 13, 2011, 01:59:08 pm »

Don't quote me on this, i'm not 100% sure.. but i believe the 'Chant' is actully a heavy fuel ship from Normandy?