Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Advice on Sirmar 1/24 TID tug please.  (Read 3353 times)

kendalboatsman

Advice on Sirmar 1/24 TID tug please.
« on: March 01, 2007, 07:50:26 pm »

I have just finished building a workbench and now I can get on with building my models. First up is my Sirmar Tid Tug at 1/24 scale, I have purchased a 6v Decaperm motor motor for it. Is that suitable and should the propshaft be coupled through the gearbox?

I have scratch built from magazine plans and features before but this is my first attempt at a semi kit with no written guidance.

Thanks
Clive :)

norry

• Full Mayhemer
  • ...Get Your Tugs Out For The Bouys...
Re: Advice on Sirmar 1/24 TID tug please.
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2007, 11:46:59 pm »

...Hi Clive...

I have a 6 volt Decaperm in my 1/32 Scale Damen Stan Tug which is 24" Long & it drives it lovely...

It drives a 50mm Kort Nozzle prop in a steerable Kort Nozzle... I would recommend that you fit a Steerable  Kort Nozzle instead of a Rudder for very much improved steering & handling...

Connect it through the gearbox & it will give you nice smooth power right through the range...

Good Luck with the building & post  some pictures as you go along....

...All The Best...Norry...
...Get Your Tugs Out For The Buoys...

Shipmate60

• Global Moderator
  • Full Mayhemer
  • You bark - I will bite!!!
« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2007, 12:08:49 am »

kendalboatsman,
Not a deccaperm in a steam tug, too noisey.
Mobile Model Marine or Motors Direct do some lovely multi-pole low rev-high torque motors.
Look for about 3000 rpm.

Bob
Officially a GOG.

HS93 (RIP)

• Full Mayhemer
  • I cannot spell , tough
« Reply #3 on: March 02, 2007, 12:25:26 am »