Model Boat Mayhem - Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Single-core mains cable  (Read 2035 times)

dreadnought72

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,865
  • Wood butcher with ten thumbs
  • Location: Airdrie, Scotland
Single-core mains cable
« on: June 11, 2011, 02:40:33 PM »

I've yards of single-core domestic mains cable left over from some DIY work.

What's the cons against using this for the power side of boat wiring? If it's good for 13A 240V stuff (around 3kW) is it necessarily bad for 5A 12V (60W) usage?

Andy (now the proud owner of some surface-mount spade fuse holders)
Logged
Enjoying every minute sailing W9465 Mertensia

boatmadman

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,721
  • Location: South Cumbria
Re: Single-core mains cable
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2011, 02:54:23 PM »

Andy,

No problem at all - massive overkill but so what?

I use it all the time for battery and motor connections.

Ian
Logged
if at first you dont succeed.....have a beer.....

dreadnought72

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,865
  • Wood butcher with ten thumbs
  • Location: Airdrie, Scotland
Re: Single-core mains cable
« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2011, 04:49:46 PM »

Thanks for the quick and positive answer, Ian.

Massive overkill = negligable resistance, I suppose!  %)

Reading more, the disadvantages of single core (skin effect at HF and "prone to metal fatigue compared to multicore") aren't issues for this purpose.

Many thanks,

Andy
Logged
Enjoying every minute sailing W9465 Mertensia

Circlip

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,737
  • Location: North of Watford, South of Hadrians wall
Re: Single-core mains cable
« Reply #3 on: June 11, 2011, 05:27:45 PM »

Metal fatigue is down to its inability to go with the flow (Vibration) of stranded.

  Regards Ian.
Logged
You might not like what I say, but that doesn't mean I'm wrong.
 
What I said is not what you  think you heard.

andrewh

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,064
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
Re: Single-core mains cable
« Reply #4 on: June 13, 2011, 12:49:33 PM »

Andy

Tiny adder - the insulation is vinyl (PVC) and cheap and highly filled at that.  So keep away from heat (max 80 degrees)

I use it for fixed supplies in boats
andrew
Logged

dreadnought72

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,865
  • Wood butcher with ten thumbs
  • Location: Airdrie, Scotland
Re: Single-core mains cable
« Reply #5 on: June 13, 2011, 03:06:14 PM »

You take me back thirty years, Andrew.

I once messed up a Physics exam question which was based on a labelled photo of the inside of an insulated box containing 'electrics'.

The question was "Does Wire 'A' Require Insulation?" Wire 'A', I ought point out, apparently carried live mains. So I said "Yes", based on the fact that the cover was off and the photographer could have stuck his fingers in. %)

I still don't think I was wrong.  %%

Andy
Logged
Enjoying every minute sailing W9465 Mertensia

andrewh

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,064
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
Re: Single-core mains cable
« Reply #6 on: June 13, 2011, 10:11:30 PM »

Andy

Bin there, got the academic tshirt

It used to be said at one alma mater that "Exams are nonsense; the greatest fool may ask more tham the wisest man may answer"

how goes big D and Racundra the skimming dish?
andrew
Logged

nick_75au

  • Guest
Re: Single-core mains cable
« Reply #7 on: June 15, 2011, 05:19:53 AM »

Just don't try to run 3 Kw through it at 12 volts, It may not become a light bulb but it could go close %%

Nick
Logged

dreadnought72

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,865
  • Wood butcher with ten thumbs
  • Location: Airdrie, Scotland
Re: Single-core mains cable
« Reply #8 on: June 15, 2011, 05:30:56 PM »

 {-) If I should get 250 amps out of this battery, Nick, mere "temporary lightbulbs" are the least of my worries.

Andrew - big D is waiting until rotund R is sailing. I haven't the room to work on both, and there are costs ahead for the Dreadnought that I'm putting off for a wee while.  <:( Meanwhile, Racundra has her main wiring loom in, and I'm going to finish the insides (servo/winch location, linkages etc) before slapping the decks and cabin on. There'll be an update on Racundra in the next couple of weeks.

Andy
Logged
Enjoying every minute sailing W9465 Mertensia

dpbarry

  • If it ain't broke, break it and curse fixing it!
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 371
  • Location: Newcastle, Co Down
    • Newcastle Lifeboat Station
Re: Single-core mains cable
« Reply #9 on: July 07, 2011, 04:05:29 PM »

You take me back thirty years, Andrew.

I once messed up a Physics exam question which was based on a labelled photo of the inside of an insulated box containing 'electrics'.

The question was "Does Wire 'A' Require Insulation?" Wire 'A', I ought point out, apparently carried live mains. So I said "Yes", based on the fact that the cover was off and the photographer could have stuck his fingers in. %)

I still don't think I was wrong.  %%

Andy

Technically you where right   <*<  especially in todays Health and Safety madness >>:-(

Declan  :-))
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up