Model Boat Mayhem - Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Brushless motors  (Read 2303 times)

mook

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 136
  • Location: oxfordshire
Brushless motors
« on: July 09, 2011, 08:01:47 PM »

This maybe a really silly question but you no with brushed motors you can wire 2 motors to one speed controller well can you do same with brushless motors?
Logged

knoby

  • Guest
Re: Brushless motors
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2011, 08:07:16 PM »

No you cant, brushless motors rely on feedback from the motor to operate, connecting 2 to 1 controller will result in neither motor working & may cause damage to both controller & esc.

cheers Glenn
Logged

mook

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 136
  • Location: oxfordshire
Re: Brushless motors
« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2011, 08:32:17 PM »

Okay so can u run two esc and brushless motors but wired up to one channel on the tx and rx ? Sorry for all questions just trying to understand
Logged

gribeauval

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,079
  • Tidy Bench -Tidy Mind, Messy Bench - BUSY!!
  • Location: Wakefield West Yorkshire
Re: Brushless motors
« Reply #3 on: July 09, 2011, 08:40:12 PM »

Yes.  :-))

Logged
True Lifeboat Nutter!!

knoby

  • Guest
Re: Brushless motors
« Reply #4 on: July 09, 2011, 08:43:19 PM »

In theory yes you can do that, but you may find that 1 motor will start slightly before the other or run a little faster at slower speeds. however it may not be to much to live with.

The other problem is, if the esc's have a bec ( battery elimination circuit) to run the receiver from the main batteries, you will have to disconnect the red wire from 1 of the esc plugs. otherwise you will be trying to supply two lots of power to your receiver.

Glenn
Logged

nick_75au

  • Guest
Re: Brushless motors
« Reply #5 on: July 10, 2011, 12:29:10 AM »

I use 2 ESCs on one channel in my Axe bow, the motors start at exactly the same time, even though one motor has more resistance ( I need to sort that out :embarrassed: ) The motor with the sticky shaft still runs slower at minimum throttle though.

Cheers
Nick
Logged

CF-FZG

  • Guest
Re: Brushless motors
« Reply #6 on: July 10, 2011, 01:04:51 AM »

This maybe a really silly question but you no with brushed motors you can wire 2 motors to one speed controller well can you do same with brushless motors?

Kontronics did a BL esc that ran 2 motors, but I don't know if they still do one or if they do one with reverse, but generally no you need one esc per motor.


Mark
Logged

wibplus

  • Guest
Re: Brushless motors
« Reply #7 on: July 16, 2011, 09:22:27 AM »

You might want to consider the P94 unit from ACTion which will run two motors.  O0
You could also contact Dave at ACTion who is usually able and willing to provide expert advice.    :-))  :-))
Logged

nick_75au

  • Guest
Re: Brushless motors
« Reply #8 on: July 16, 2011, 09:44:24 AM »

You might want to consider the P94 unit from ACTion which will run two motors.  O0
You could also contact Dave at ACTion who is usually able and willing to provide expert advice.    :-))  :-))

Not brush-less.......
P40 or P82 would be useful though for radios without mixing

Cheers
Nick
Logged

wibplus

  • Guest
Re: Brushless motors
« Reply #9 on: July 16, 2011, 01:05:30 PM »

Not brush-less.......
P40 or P82 would be useful though for radios without mixing

Cheers
Nick

Ooops ! Quite correct. Thanks.    :-))   :embarrassed:
Logged

SKAZ

  • Guest
Re: Brushless motors
« Reply #10 on: July 18, 2011, 01:04:40 AM »

A couple of us at bryn bach park tredegar have been running two brushless motors off one speed controller  for over six months  with no problems
Logged

More Coffee

  • Guest
Re: Brushless motors
« Reply #11 on: July 18, 2011, 02:55:47 AM »

My guess is they are probably sensorless motor's

but then again the BL motor stuff is still a bit foreign to me.

Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up