Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Help with parts for building plank on frame boat  (Read 1852 times)

mook

• Full Mayhemer
Help with parts for building plank on frame boat
« on: July 24, 2011, 02:13:07 pm »

Ok so I'm still learning and want get things right so here goes what glue do I use for building my Mary Ann also how do I make a building slip or should I by billings one also do I need pins or any thing to pin the planks, sorry for all questions I just wanna learn and get it right and enjoy the hobby please no digs if u think these are silly questions

Bob_V

• Full Mayhemer
    • Luton & District Model Boat Club
Re: Help with parts for building plank on frame boat
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2011, 03:23:44 pm »

Rchammer,

If you look at the following link and click on the 'Mary Ann' link you should find some photos of my build of the Mary Ann.

http://lutonmodelboat.co.uk/frame_gallery_index.html

The glue I used was 'Titebond II' a water resistant aliphatic resin (similar to PVA).

Let me know if you need any help with your build.

If you are going to fit Radio Control I strongly recommend fitting all the radio equipment before planking the hull and then trying to remove every
item through the available apertures. You will find that this makes the fitting of the electrics much easier than trying to fit it later.

Bob.
Bob Vaughan

Netleyned

• Full Mayhemer
    • cleethorpes mba
« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2011, 03:35:36 pm »

'Titebond II' is the glue for me too  :-))  :-))

Ned
Smooth seas never made skilful sailors
Up Spirits  Stand fast the Holy Ghost.
http://www.cleethorpesmba.co.uk/

mook

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #3 on: July 24, 2011, 03:44:18 pm »

Yeah I see your build the other day I emailed your club member asking questions but never got back to me asked wat motor prop size and prop shaft you used very nice model

John W E

• I see no ships !!