Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Off-the-shelf Keels  (Read 2993 times)

RickF

• Full Mayhemer
  • Black, white and buff - not grey!
Off-the-shelf Keels
« on: April 02, 2007, 11:53:31 am »

Hi guys,

Planning ahead to the next build but one, I have decided to resurrect an old vac-formed Thames sailing barge hull.
It will obviously need a keel if it is going to sail, so my question is this: does anyone supply ready-made bolt-on keels? Obviously the weight will have to be calculated/measured, but are these things generally available? I'm a complete novice when it comes to boats with rags attached!

Rick

Daryl

Re: Off-the-shelf Keels
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2007, 12:47:17 pm »

In Yahoo/ groups there is an organisation called AMBO, ( Assosiation of Model Barge Owners) at one time they had a member Tony Williams who made fibreglas keel moulds, all you have to do is fill them with lead, melted or resin and a ready made keel. The keel is ideal for 1/24th scale buthe amy have other sizes.

Daryl

tigertiger

• Global Moderator
  • Full Mayhemer
« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2007, 01:09:52 pm »

I don't know of off the shelf keels but I know Sails Etc do ballast bulbs.

http://www.sailsetc.com/parbulb.htm#
These are mostly just bulbs but the winged ballast is much more.

However these will be overkill as you won't want to race IOM class.

Making the keel is easy, and so is attaching the bulb. Forgive me if I am teaching you how to suck eggs.
On my boat the keel bulb was hollow plastic filled with epoxy resin and lead shot. I have seen hollow plastic keel bulbs somewhere but  cannot remember where.

See fig for how my keel was constructed. I think you already know about keel trunks from your posting.
The only stupid question is the one I didn't ask

romainpek

« Reply #3 on: April 02, 2007, 01:44:31 pm »

I think I already saw that drawing somewhere...  ;)

RickF