Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Putting GRP over glass tissue on a balsa hull  (Read 5760 times)

Builder1

Putting GRP over glass tissue on a balsa hull
« on: August 17, 2011, 09:03:52 pm »

I have used glass tissue to cover a plank on frame balsa hull but I am now considering putting GRP matting over the tissue. My question is :-
Is this OK to do and if so can anyone offer any advice on how best to do it.

I am a real beginner so please try and keep it simple

Many Thanks

tobyker

• Full Mayhemer
Re: Putting GRP over glass tissue on a balsa hull
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2011, 11:39:03 pm »

It is qute feasible, but the resulting surface will be rougher that Yogi's trousers. If you need to strengthen the hull with mat, can you fit pieces inside?

HS93 (RIP)

• Full Mayhemer
  • I cannot spell , tough
« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2011, 12:03:09 am »

no problem at all I am helping someone do a large boat now read this  http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=329811  it will show how it is done I have been doing it for some time using this method and it works well , you use cloth that is available from deluxe materials   http://www.deluxematerials.com/products_building.html   Lightweight Fibreglass Cloth,and   Aeropoxy you can just use ordinary epoxy but it must be the slow setting unless you are superman, cut the cloth a lot bigger as it shrinks..

Peter

Builder1

« Reply #3 on: August 18, 2011, 09:38:33 am »

Many thanks to all for the response. Just one thing,if I do put the grp over the tissue surely I can sand it down to a smooth finish. To be honest I need to strengthen the outside of the hull and hopefully cover up some of the more glaring mistakes!!!

Colin Bishop

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #4 on: August 18, 2011, 10:20:21 am »