Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: New To Modelling  (Read 2170 times)

Steve1961

New To Modelling
« on: August 22, 2011, 05:29:30 pm »

Hello to you all, I posted a topic in chit-chat but maybe I should have started here, This is my first time in this or any other forum.
Basically I started modelling many years ago with a Huntsman 46 I didn't finish her but plan to redo the kit after my second all time project which is the Robbe Atlantis, this was my 50th birthday present to myself.
She has been a challenge at times but I'm feeling the benefits already.

If there is anyone who has also completed the Huntsman I would be interested if they found a suitable motor(s) to get her to plane successfully.

Darts

Re: New To Modelling
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2011, 07:06:57 pm »

You have done a really good job on the Atlantis better than the one I was given. A tip I was given if you do sail her is to leave off the small middle sail to get used to her that way first. It seemed to help because when she went on the water fully rigged and the wind was blowing she had the trailing tips of the sails in the water and still going along at a great rate of knots.

Steve1961

« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2011, 07:20:22 pm »

Thank you for that advice, it will be quite daunting on her first trip out.
One of the hardest things was thinking of a name for her, but as my mum passed away in June this year I thought in her memory I would call her Lady Marion.

JB

• Full Mayhemer
  • Resting in Drydock.
« Reply #3 on: August 22, 2011, 09:15:05 pm »

Lovely work on the Atlantis :-))