Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Brand New to the Model Boat World  (Read 2435 times)

theguy501

Brand New to the Model Boat World
« on: August 23, 2011, 05:05:49 am »

Hi all,

As the title says, I'm brand spankin' new to the world of model boats and am looking to get into it.  I have some experience with model cars, but not much.  I have been looking around at models online and would like to invest in my first model/tools/supplies but am not really sure what is needed or which model to begin with.  Preferably something a little challenging, but not too tough for someone new to woodworking and such. 

My goal, once I have some experience, is to invest in a Chris Craft kit and have fun with it.  But all in good time.  So, any suggestions as far as kits would be greatly appreciated, as well as any tools and supplies that I'll need.  I don't mind doing some research on my own if someone can point me in the right direction.

Lookin' forward to getting started!  Thanks all!

colin-d

Re: Brand New to the Model Boat World
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2011, 10:04:13 am »

the only power tool i have is a multi purpose hand held Proxxon Micro drill / sander, do anything tool with Variable speed, all my other tools are manual labour, files, pliers, side cutters, screwdrivers , sanding paper and the such like.

Proxxon Tool

as for a suggestion to what sort of Kit you would like, it would be handy to know;

1. your preference of boat (fast launch, war ship, merchant ship, work boat etc)
2. your preference of materials (wood or plastics)

john s 2

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #2 on: August 23, 2011, 10:17:12 am »