Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Help Norden hull planking. New to modeling  (Read 11283 times)

steveuklad1

Help Norden hull planking. New to modeling
« on: September 24, 2011, 05:45:30 pm »

Hello. I wonder if you could help. I'm new to modelling and I have the static Norden 603  model boat. I have reached the the planking stage for the hull and I don't know what to do as the instructions are not to clear and there is a top edging strip that looks like it has to be bent round the ribs at the top that I have in one place, but this edging strip is very solid and will not bend and I'm not sure how I should do this and exactly where it should be placed? Also I don't have as much venire strips as the book says I should have (qty 50). I also have about 70 strips of wood all cut the same length and sized, can you help with what these are.
Thanks. Steve.
Ps if you can help you can contact me here on the forum or via skype user name ******* or email ************ removed as members can contact you via your profile

Please do not put your personal emails on open forum. It leads to Spam Bots finding them
Also it would help members if you put you location into your Profile please.

****  Moderator ****

JB

• Full Mayhemer
  • Resting in Drydock.
Re: Help Norden hull planking. New to modeling
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2011, 07:43:45 am »

I built the Norden about 6 years ago, I did take some photo's including some when planking the hull, as you say the instructions are fairly basic, there is a web page with more detailed building hints and tips somewhere on the Billing website, I'll try to find it.

As you are new to this what tools have you collected so far...also what type of glue are you using?

I'll see if I can find some of my photo's and post them here..if I can find them. I stored them on CD so might take some finding!