Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: 1 [2]   Go Down

Author Topic: Experiences of Model Shops  (Read 5956 times)

Norseman

• Full Mayhemer
Re: Experiences of Model Shops
« Reply #25 on: October 24, 2011, 11:29:18 pm »

Hi

Well I'm pretty new to the hobby and I ask on the forum about a lot of stuff - and everyone is helpful. My experience with model shops is this - most of them don't seem overly interested in boats - and I have been really disappointed in probably eight of nine I have been to {:-{ However I hauled myself up to Skelmersdale to a tiny cramped shop called 'Scale Hobbies' and I had a great experience. The guy looked at my old boat, talked me through some choices, kitted me out with everything off the shelf, and gave advice on what to do etc etc. Now whilst my pennies might have gone a little further on the internet I would have missed out on his advice - and maybe bought the wrong item. I will definitely return there soon  :-))

Regards Norseman

essex2visuvesi

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #26 on: October 25, 2011, 06:22:01 am »

Nearest model shop is about 2 hours away.... more trains and RC cars tho.  Nearest decenet model shop is in Helsinki (4 hours away) and that is to expensive as I can normally buy from CMB or ebay and have it shipped for less
One By One The Penguins Steal My Sanity
Proud member of the OAM  (Order of the Armchair Modeller)
Junior member of the OGG  (Order of the Grumpy Git)

Number 6

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #27 on: October 25, 2011, 06:28:07 am »

Hi