Model Boat Mayhem - Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Blond moment  (Read 2373 times)

davidsg1a

  • Guest
Blond moment
« on: October 21, 2011, 09:54:51 AM »

Iv got this switch and cant remmember how to wire it, so i need to know where to put the motor and where to put the power, hopefully you guys with masive brains can help.



Logged

malcolmfrary

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5,529
  • Location: Blackpool, Lancs, UK
Re: Blond moment
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2011, 10:00:51 AM »

Any markings on it? 
When you work it from the radio or servo tester does it go "click"?  If it dies then its a relay type and you can use your meter on continuity (resistance) to check for contacts and their operation.  If its a solid state device, you would be looking at voltages.
Of course, finding where the instructions hid themselves would be first prize.
Logged
"With the right tool, you can break anything" - Garfield

davidsg1a

  • Guest
Re: Blond moment
« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2011, 10:14:39 AM »

Theres a red dott on the far right connector, no clicks come off it, the instruction would be handy but cant seem to find them. <:(
Logged

Tug-Kenny

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7,680
  • Location: Newport. S Wales
Re: Blond moment
« Reply #3 on: October 21, 2011, 11:12:34 AM »



 Do you have a meter ?  It will tell you everything you wish to know.

First thing is measure voltage when connect up to R/X  before doing any continuity tests.

There might be a chance you blow back to the R/X and damages it.

keep us posted

ken

Logged
Despite the high cost of living   .......... It remains popular

davidsg1a

  • Guest
Re: Blond moment
« Reply #4 on: October 21, 2011, 11:37:45 AM »

Iv tried testing it through the rx and dosent seem to be any power in the switch, it must be broke.
Logged

tugboyben

  • Guest
Re: Blond moment
« Reply #5 on: October 21, 2011, 11:42:54 AM »

Hi davidsg1a

This looks like the same one as you have may be a idea to send them a message's

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/SOLDERLESS-RC-Switch-Lights-Model-Boats-Cars-/120786972200?pt=UK_ToysGames_RadioControlled_JN&hash=item1c1f76ee28

Or this is is web site http://www.mr-rcworld.co.uk/

Hope it helps jason :-))
Logged

davidsg1a

  • Guest
Re: Blond moment
« Reply #6 on: October 21, 2011, 12:08:54 PM »

Thanks very much for that Jason, :-)) that was the right instructions and thank you Ken and Malcom for in put. :-))

David
Logged

Tug-Kenny

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7,680
  • Location: Newport. S Wales
Re: Blond moment
« Reply #7 on: October 21, 2011, 08:04:40 PM »


Cheers Davidsg1a.

I had never seen one of these. Now I know what it is (from Ebay info)  I might consider getting a few myself.  They appear to have live and neutral going in,  and on full T/X movement, outputting up to 20 amps live and neutral.

You'll  have to meter it on test and let us know the terminal connections and how it performs under load please.

regards

Ken
Logged
Despite the high cost of living   .......... It remains popular

Captain Flack

  • Guest
Re: Blond moment
« Reply #8 on: December 07, 2011, 09:26:06 AM »

I'm fairly sure the two outside connectors are the power in., +ve marked with red dot and the inner two are for the power out , again +ve on the "dotted"side.  If you connect it then to a spare channel then you can switch whatever you want.  I don't believe them to be "latched" although I do know you can buy them like that.
Logged

ACTion

  • Guest
Re: Blond moment
« Reply #9 on: December 07, 2011, 10:43:55 AM »

They appear to have live and neutral going in,  and on full T/X movement, outputting up to 20 amps live and neutral.
Must be Chinese Amps, Kenny (judging by the size of the heat sink..................)
DM
Logged

Captain Flack

  • Guest
Re: Blond moment
« Reply #10 on: December 07, 2011, 03:47:04 PM »

You can buy two differing amperage ones on ebay, but to my knowledge they aren't marked.  I thought they were about 3 or 8 amp only but.........
Logged

Netleyned

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 8,945
  • Location: Meridian Line, Mouth of the Humber
    • cleethorpes mba
Re: Blond moment
« Reply #11 on: December 07, 2011, 03:59:33 PM »

May be ok for switching lights or a very small motor but as DM says no way 20A at 30V
The startup current of a large model motor would be too much


Ned
Logged
Smooth seas never made skilful sailors
Up Spirits  Stand fast the Holy Ghost.
http://www.cleethorpesmba.co.uk/

nick_75au

  • Guest
Re: Blond moment
« Reply #12 on: December 23, 2011, 10:09:40 AM »

Quote
Must be Chinese Amps, Kenny (judging by the size of the heat sink..................)
DM

They make Chinese amps in the UK now ;D

It can probably handle the amps as its not switching constantly like an ESC.

Nick
Logged

irishcarguy

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,374
  • Happiness is running from a grizzly and escaping
  • Location: Calgary N. W. Alberta, Canada
    • Britishcars International. org.
Re: Blond moment
« Reply #13 on: February 01, 2012, 07:46:12 AM »

Hi all, we have a saying in the auto industry when talking about horse power, " Japanese ponies & German horses" A hundred Japanese horsepower is about eighty German horsepower. Mick B.
Logged
Mick B.

Circlip

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,737
  • Location: North of Watford, South of Hadrians wall
Re: Blond moment
« Reply #14 on: February 01, 2012, 10:51:30 AM »

And in Hi-Fi terms, 500watts American =250 British ones. :-))

  Regards  Ian.
Logged
You might not like what I say, but that doesn't mean I'm wrong.
 
What I said is not what you  think you heard.

malcolmfrary

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5,529
  • Location: Blackpool, Lancs, UK
Re: Blond moment
« Reply #15 on: February 01, 2012, 11:46:37 AM »

And in Hi-Fi terms, 500watts American =250 British ones. :-))

  Regards  Ian.
Have a look at http://www.rocketroberts.com/techart/powerart_a.htm  and scroll down about 1/3 of the page, have a read at "music power". 
Logged
"With the right tool, you can break anything" - Garfield

Circlip

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,737
  • Location: North of Watford, South of Hadrians wall
Re: Blond moment
« Reply #16 on: February 01, 2012, 01:45:28 PM »

Used to work in it Malcolm. Chuckled at a banner on a "Ghetto blaster" - 2500mW output.

  Regards  Ian.
Logged
You might not like what I say, but that doesn't mean I'm wrong.
 
What I said is not what you  think you heard.
Pages: [1]   Go Up