Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: 1 [2]   Go Down

Author Topic: Revell 1/144 fletcher class destroyer  (Read 14509 times)

Harquebus

• Full Mayhemer
Re: Revell 1/144 fletcher class destroyer
« Reply #25 on: January 06, 2013, 12:35:43 pm »

Haaa! I had wondered what had happened to your progress but at the same time, your thread had been pushed down the listing and so out of sight is out of mind.

Sad to hear your motors "kicked the bucket." I'm no expert on nomenclature but are/were your motors 280's? Cannot imagine they were underpowered so was there any binding or drag in the drivetrain (shafts, couplers, prop struts)? I think it important to have motors that provide more than scale speed if needed to escape the danger of various obstacles, high waves, water beasts and so forth.

I think you need a 'sea' with no seaweed.
~Harq

bikerdude999

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #26 on: January 06, 2013, 05:13:23 pm »

Hi, the props turned freely, and I can't remember where I got the motors now, but they were sold as 'micro-motors' and the sales description said suitable for plastic conversions, but they just never seemed to have the power. I think I've got some graupner speed 300's lurking somewhere, but I'm moving house at the moment so obviously everything I want is in an unknown box! If I've not got motors I'll probably buy some speed 300's or similar, as long as they're rated for at least 7.2v and have another go.

Definite need to get new props now though, whilst transporting the model the kit props snapped some blades!

Harquebus

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #27 on: February 11, 2013, 11:12:37 am »

Bump/BTT.

So, did you replace the props and motors? Since Glen made such an impact with his aftermarket props from Prop Shop (on his Lindberg Fletcher build), why not use a suitably sized set from them?