Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: cheddar pintail  (Read 4316 times)

ray

cheddar pintail
« on: March 26, 2007, 08:21:09 am »

Hi I have recently purchased a cheddar steam plant on ebay and I am building a steam launch based on a Kingston mouldings hull, however I am new to steam and the plant came with no instruction at all. Can anybody help with a copy of instruction if they are available? or if not can somebody out there run me through the layout etc. I would appreciate any help.

Bunkerbarge

• Full Mayhemer
Re: cheddar pintail
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2007, 09:30:43 am »

Well Ray that certainly is a simple question that is going to take a lot to answer!

First of all have a look at my own build thread here to give you an idea of what I have done with my current project:

http://www.scale-models.co.uk/showthread.php?t=1711

Now having said that the design of your plant is entirely up to you and depends on what you want out of it, how complex you want it to be and how much money you want to spend.

In it's very basic format the plant will at least require the following:

A boiler with filling plug, pressure gauge, burner arrangement, level glass, relief valve and steam stop valve.
An Engine, prefferably a double acting twin which can be controlled from a servo.
An engine steam control valve connected to your speed control servo.
A fuel supply which could be coal or gas.  The gas would usually be found in a seperate tank or can be supplied from the purchased bottle if your boat is designed to accommodate it.
An exhaust seperator.  The exhaust from the engine goes through this where some of the moisture is condensed out and most of the oil content is removed.
An oiler