Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8   Go Down

Author Topic: Making a FV Northwestern (Deadliest Catch)  (Read 71836 times)

chris gillespie

Making a FV Northwestern (Deadliest Catch)
« on: December 31, 2011, 08:45:12 am »

Hi everyone
Ive taken the plunge and decided to make my first model boat, ive been at it for a month or so. Thoroughly enjoyable and addictive, alot more goes into it than meets the eye.
Iam making a FV Northwestern from Deadliest Catch, i love the elegant old girl and havent seen too many try and make her, so hopefully ill do her justice.

Total Scratch build

I am a complete novice so some methods may seem bizarre, started out by carving her hull out of high density foam, which was reasonably fast and productive. having already made myself full sized 1:32 plans. I struggled for a while to adequately seal the foam for future fibregalss layup, but i got there in the end with plain old pollyfilla yes i was surprised how well it worked, it was easily sandable and took to the foam well.
So my journey onwards full of self discovery lol, alot of materials id never used before, the next was fibreglass, which was reasonably priced, my technique however for a first time was pretty good, the odd tear in the gel coat where i added the matting, however the resin and strength was all good.
Hull is ready for deck and rib fit outs, wheelhouse is formed, sadly the cold weather has halted recent progress, however nothing is lost and i have whipped up 100 odd pot frames.

Foam sandwich

Taking shape 1

Taking shape 2

Taking shape 3

Foam sealing

First Fibreglass

Deck and ribs

Deck and ribs 2

Pot Frames

bosun

• Full Mayhemer
    • bosunsmodelboats.com
Re: Making a FV Northwestern (Deadliest Catch)
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2011, 08:57:36 am »

Hy Chris.