Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: graupner weisel  (Read 9524 times)

otto

graupner weisel
« on: August 31, 2010, 09:51:34 pm »

Hi I am new to this so bear with me a little.I am rebuilding a Weisel patrol boat,so far so good.it has been fitted with 3 graupner 200 6v motors.with 3 blade props.even at full voltage,the turn of speed is not fast,someone suggested 12 volts would be ok,for short periods,even this with 50 amp esc is not what you would expect.using 2 6v gell cells as ballast,boat weighs about 5 kilos,and seems to need it in tight turns, or sidesway is frightening.Am I looking for performance which is simply not there? Motors,props change?boat looks great on/off the water, re paint in mid grey,off white transforms  looks,just needs that bit of zip...

Shipmate60

• Global Moderator
  • Full Mayhemer
  • You bark - I will bite!!!
Re: graupner weisel
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2010, 10:03:53 pm »

3 x 550 motors on 7.2 or even 9.6 volts should have her going very nicely.

Bob
Officially a GOG.

otto

« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2010, 04:08:26 pm »

Thanks for that.appreciated.

FullLeatherJacket

« Reply #3 on: September 01, 2010, 05:28:04 pm »

Mr Jacket recommends Speed 500E motors if you want to go to 12v. 200 motors are far too small.
http://www.action-electronics.co.uk/pdfs/Graupner%20Wiesel.pdf
FLJ

otto

« Reply #4 on: September 01, 2010, 10:59:16 pm »

thanks for the info.

SinWin

« Reply #5 on: September 02, 2010, 05:41:52 pm »

Excuse me for breaking into this thread, but may I ask what the numbers 200/300/500 and so forth refer to? Is it the number of windings?

FullLeatherJacket

« Reply #6 on: September 02, 2010, 07:15:52 pm »

No - it refers to the size of the motor case. The number and thickness of the windings are a whole different matter, and aren't identified in the generic reference code at all.
FLJ

SinWin