Model Boat Mayhem - Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: smoke unit  (Read 2648 times)

fletch62

  • Guest
smoke unit
« on: March 03, 2012, 08:20:49 AM »

Ive fitted a 6v Graupner smoke unit in my tug is it possible  to wire it to the speed controler so it smokes more the faster the boat goes has anyone tried this


brian
Logged

Captain Flack

  • Guest
Re: smoke unit
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2012, 09:05:58 AM »

I have one, it doesn't produce that much smoke anyway so I don't think it would work as you want.
Logged

Martin [Admin]

  • Administrator
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18,987
  • Location: Peterborough, UK
    • Model Boat Mayhem
Re: smoke unit
« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2012, 09:26:36 AM »


... and most smoke (oil / heater type) unit are quite slow to react...

Logged
"This is my firm opinion, but what do I know?!"    -   Mayhem FaceBook Group!

fletch62

  • Guest
Re: smoke unit
« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2012, 09:51:55 AM »

Thanks it was just an idea and i dint want to blow it trying
Logged

hmsantrim

  • Guest
Re: smoke unit
« Reply #4 on: March 03, 2012, 11:04:36 AM »

Hi Brian.
               I think what you want is one of these..http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/251002372321

                           cheers Frank
Logged

Welsh Wizard

  • Guest
Re: smoke unit
« Reply #5 on: March 03, 2012, 11:26:13 AM »

Marc MMB on here sells a proper smoke unit that is proportional and they are dammed good I may add



Dave
Logged

richald

  • Guest
Re: smoke unit
« Reply #6 on: March 03, 2012, 12:03:03 PM »

I have a 6v smoke unit wired up to the ESC and motor in my corvette

It's a while since I ran it, but I seem to remember it worked OK.

Do check that the Smoke Unit is not choosy about which way round
it needs to be wired since, of course, the polarity will change when
you go into reverse.

Richard
Logged

fletch62

  • Guest
Re: smoke unit
« Reply #7 on: March 03, 2012, 03:52:54 PM »

Thanks ive tried the wires both ways and it still works fine so i dont think i can do any harm to try it
Logged

john s 2

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,184
  • Location: Southend on Sea Essex
Re: smoke unit
« Reply #8 on: March 03, 2012, 05:16:21 PM »

Sadly the hot element type does not respond to well to varying volts/amps. Worth a try. The mister type is in my opinion far better. The steam effect is varyed by the fan. as the mister is always fully on so there is no delay as the boat speeds up.It can run for an hour or more uses less power and leaves no sticky residue.John.
Logged

Martin [Admin]

  • Administrator
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18,987
  • Location: Peterborough, UK
    • Model Boat Mayhem
Re: smoke unit
« Reply #9 on: March 03, 2012, 07:53:37 PM »


You might be better off running the unit at full power and using a tinyl fan on paralleled up to the motor...
Logged
"This is my firm opinion, but what do I know?!"    -   Mayhem FaceBook Group!

More Coffee

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 127
  • Location: In a Igloo
Re: smoke unit
« Reply #10 on: March 23, 2012, 07:04:54 AM »

Actually  guys ..the smoke can remain at a constant if you wish ..

A small fan can blow the smoke of theres a Y of the main motor to command an esc for the smoker..

Now that works well ,,but in reverse the fan motor will reverse also ,(if the smoker fan esc has reverse).

To have the fan to run in its proper direction under a reverse or forward command..
1 -connect the two ESC output leads +/- to the input of a bridge rectifier
2 -connect the outputs of the bridge rectifier to the fan motor..

you may have to reverse them or whatever to get the fan spinning the right way..but when your done..forward/reverse the fan motor will always spin in the correct direction to blow out your smoke..

Most hairdryers have everything a guy needs to make smoke,and theres a bridge rectifier,more often than not a DC fan motor in them, so all you need extra is something to hold the smoker fluid and a wick..
fiber glass cloth teased all to heck with a wire brush willl provide you with the wick..
Logged

ACTion

  • Guest
Re: smoke unit
« Reply #11 on: March 23, 2012, 07:46:49 AM »

Logged

tt1

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,756
  • If I only know a little - then I can learn a lot
  • Location: Leicestershire
Re: smoke unit
« Reply #12 on: March 23, 2012, 10:47:11 AM »

By heck Dave is there anything you don't make?  {-) {-) {-)
                      Regards, Tony. :-))
Logged

malcolmfrary

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5,551
  • Location: Blackpool, Lancs, UK
Re: smoke unit
« Reply #13 on: March 23, 2012, 10:51:12 AM »

And if you want the challenge of making your own -  the fan idles due to the bleed resistor on the right, the opto isolator repeats the motor control pulses from the ESC to set the speed of the fan, because there are two opto elements, one does forward, one reverse, and the fan always drives the same way.

Logged
"With the right tool, you can break anything" - Garfield

ACTion

  • Guest
Re: smoke unit
« Reply #14 on: March 23, 2012, 11:12:04 AM »

By heck Dave is there anything you don't make?  {-) {-) {-)
                      Regards, Tony. :-))
Yeah - but we're working on it.
DM
Logged

More Coffee

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 127
  • Location: In a Igloo
Re: smoke unit
« Reply #15 on: March 23, 2012, 03:27:46 PM »

A bridge rectifier would be cheaper and less involved,don't you think ..

I'm not even gonna start on the Action unit,reputation is something i don't have,there's no arguing  the module.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up