Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Hi all  (Read 1975 times)

nant

• Shipmate
Hi all
« on: May 14, 2012, 12:25:31 pm »

Hey to all  there. I am new to model boats. I normally find myself kite surfing or riding out on the motorbike, but unfortunately i have destroyed my knee so I am awaiting surgery. So need to find something to do which doesnt involve moving too much!

Been doing airfix models the past month or so. Found my old boat from the loft. its not been used for about 18 years. Not sure who made it or where my father got it from. But i fancy getting it going again. The battery has completely corroded. Its a 6 volt battery.

This is a picture of it with the canopy off. Its got some old school radio controller with it. So where do i start?

boatmadman

• Full Mayhemer
Re: Hi all
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2012, 12:37:04 pm »

Hi,

Welcome to the madhouse, you will get lots of advice some of which might be helpful - or not!

Anyway, where to start. Check out the rating of the motor and buy a new battery matched to the voltage rating, use Nimh batteries for this, they are cheaper and easier to charge than Lipo, also the weight is useful for a little ballast.

If you are electrically minded in anyway, try and find out what the current draw on the motor is with the hull in water, this will allow you to get a speed controller to suit.

The controller in the boat is an older resistance type controller, it will do the job ok (as long as it is undamaged), but, it will waste power and reduce endurance. You should consider an electronic esc.

This guy is very helpful and has good products: http://www.action-electronics.co.uk/