Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: MFA Torpedo 850 - Q & A  (Read 4354 times)

CJ

• Full Mayhemer
MFA Torpedo 850 - Q & A
« on: May 18, 2012, 06:43:15 pm »

Evening Gents,

Just a few questions that I hope someone can answer, I have just purchased one of these......

as I have stripped the guts out of my Fairmile B due to upgrading to 2.4ghz after a loss of control moment >:-o  ......

Has anyone used these at all and can advise on water cooling, it was dropped on me today and I have no experience with this whatsoever - the 800 I pulled out of it was fine and never overheated but I am just thinking now as someone mentioned in passing to me that it may be worth doing.

As I have the guts out and room to work I would rather do now than have to face doing in the future !!!

Any advice as always greatly appreciated  :embarrassed:

CJ

"Blessed is he who, in the name of charity and good will, shepherds the weak through the valley of the darkness"

Shipmate60

• Global Moderator
  • Full Mayhemer
  • You bark - I will bite!!!
Re: MFA Torpedo 850 - Q & A
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2012, 07:21:56 pm »

How long is the model and what prop is on her.
The 850 will rev about 9000 rpm on 12 volts (almost twice that of the 800).
It will pull about 7-11 amps usually and shouldn't need watercooling on 12 volts unless you are fitting a big prop and making it work hard.

Bob
Officially a GOG.

CJ

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2012, 07:40:26 pm »

Hi Bob,

Thanks for the info, she's 145cm or 57" in old money  :} and on 1 x 55mm prop, power is from a 12v 12 Ahr battery.

She ran OK could of just done with a little bit more oomph so whilst upgrading to 2.4 the servo's and wiring etc. I thought may as well do the motor,  {:-{ worried now as the yes - the old one is kicking at 4900rpm, the 850 is 9700 rpm - worried my little bit of oomph may make her take off !!!!