Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: batteries  (Read 2976 times)

regiment

• Full Mayhemer
batteries
« on: June 19, 2012, 08:21:42 am »

charged my 6 volt 4 amp battery  left it for a couple of hours  put the charger back on and it took 20 minutes to come up to full charge again running a 540 motor  lasted about 1 and 1/2 hours then went dead is the battery on it way out it is 3 years old also best place to buy a new one  thanks regiment

Raen

• Full Mayhemer
Re: batteries
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2012, 09:03:20 am »

I am no expert in this area however I remember when bluebird built his cervia he used a 550 motor and mentioned this:
Now the motor I have installed into this model is a 550 motor.  When we tested it ‘free running’ coupled to nothing, the motor was sitting on the bench and we ran it at 6 volt.  According to the book we have and the information sheet, for this particular motor, at 6 volt; she should draw between 0.4 and 0.5 of an amp and she should rotate in the region of between 15000 and 16000 rpm.

Assuming that there is no load on your 540 and assuming a similar unloaded current draw I would expect to see something similar to the following:
0.5 amp draw
4 amp/hour battery

4/0.5=8hours run time

Now nothing is perfect so I would assume less run time than this maybe 6 hours
http://www.jaycar.com.au/products_uploaded/SB2496.pdf
are some specs for a similar battery

Given this I would assume either the battery is on the way out or it was not actually fully charged.

Given the batteries age its also important that they are stored correctly. I have assumed the battery is a sealed lead acid and I believe these should be regularly "cycled" to keep them in top nick

By cycled I mean discharged and charged every so often.

Hope that helps,

Tim