Model Boat Mayhem - Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Best place to fit a fuse....  (Read 3918 times)

pettyofficernick

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,269
  • Marineville will be destroyed, Muahahaha.....
  • Location: Leasowe, Wirral
Best place to fit a fuse....
« on: June 22, 2012, 09:46:42 PM »

Hi, I have a dilemma, where to fit  an Action P95 fuse board, The instructions from Action say between motor and ESC, The ESC instructions ( M tronics Viper 15 amp plug and play) say between ESC and power source, which is best, or doesn't it matter?
Many thanks in advance,
Nick. :-)) :-)) :-))
Logged
What I do is best not discussed, for I have been many things in my time....

malcolmfrary

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5,532
  • Location: Blackpool, Lancs, UK
Re: Best place to fit a fuse....
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2012, 10:09:12 PM »

The P95 is an indicating fuse mount intended to tell you that something has gone wrong with the motor, and which direction that the ESC is trying to drive it, so for that job, it needs to live between ESC output and Motor.  In a multi motor installation, with one per motor, it can tell you which motor circuit has given the problem.
Normally, the job of a fuse is to protect whatever is beyond the fuse from further damage, and, by implication, the wiring and anything near the wiring, like the flammable bits of the boat.  To do this, it needs to be between the battery and everything else.  It all depends on what job you intend the fuse, or fuses, to do.  Any downstream fuses should, ideally, be of a lower value than upstream (i.e. nearer the battery) ones.  That way, the one nearest the problem blows.
Logged
"With the right tool, you can break anything" - Garfield

mersey dave

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 672
  • Location: wallasey
Re: Best place to fit a fuse....
« Reply #2 on: June 22, 2012, 10:13:11 PM »

Hi, I have a dilemma, where to fit  an Action P95 fuse board, The instructions from Action say between motor and ESC, The ESC instructions ( M tronics Viper 15 amp plug and play) say between ESC and power source, which is best, or doesn't it matter?
Many thanks in advance,
Nick. :-)) :-)) :-))

Hi Nick, i would go the Action way.  :-)) :-))

Regards Dave.

pettyofficernick

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,269
  • Marineville will be destroyed, Muahahaha.....
  • Location: Leasowe, Wirral
Re: Best place to fit a fuse....
« Reply #3 on: June 22, 2012, 10:18:40 PM »

Many thanks, I must admit to forgetting about the led when I posted, I have just realized that the 2 way led would not work in reverse on the battery side. so motor side it is. ESC is 15A, so I will use a 10 A fuse.
Regards,
Nick. :-)) :-)) :-))
Logged
What I do is best not discussed, for I have been many things in my time....

tobyker

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,315
  • Location: Scotland - West Coast
Re: Best place to fit a fuse....
« Reply #4 on: June 22, 2012, 11:13:56 PM »

So presumably, battery, fuse, ESC, P95 motor, in that order?
Logged

ACTion

  • Guest
Re: Best place to fit a fuse....
« Reply #5 on: June 22, 2012, 11:27:19 PM »

So presumably, battery, fuse, ESC, P95 motor, in that order?
Yep! Just like the pictures, dude.
DM
Logged

Nordlys

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 600
  • Location: Kent.
Where do I fit a Fuse
« Reply #6 on: September 02, 2012, 09:48:46 AM »

Hello,
I have seen differing views as to where a fuse should be fitted in the Motor/Esc circuit.
Should it go between Battery and Esc or between Esc and Motor?

Thanks
Nordlys
Logged

tugboyben

  • Kirkleesmodelboatclub
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 689
  • WARRIOR TUG BOAT
  • Location: LIVERSEDGE
Re: Where do I fit a Fuse
« Reply #7 on: September 02, 2012, 09:57:14 AM »

Morning nordlys
I allways fuse between battery & ESC never had a problem hope it help's

Jason
Logged

Nordlys

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 600
  • Location: Kent.
Re: Where do I fit a Fuse
« Reply #8 on: September 02, 2012, 10:42:41 AM »

Hello Jason,
Well thats what i have done on most of my boats but I recently purchased an
Action Electronics in line fuse  P95 and wired this in accordance with instructions which shows
it between Esc and Motor.
Of course some people fit a fuse in both positions. Now that would be safe.
Thanks
Nordlys
Logged

Norseman

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,486
  • Location: Huyton, Liverpool
Re: Where do I fit a Fuse
« Reply #9 on: September 02, 2012, 11:44:26 AM »

that link isn't working for me Dave?

Dave
Logged

Nordlys

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 600
  • Location: Kent.
Re: Where do I fit a Fuse
« Reply #10 on: September 02, 2012, 11:45:52 AM »

Nor me Dave - off limits message>


Nordlys
Logged

Norseman

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,486
  • Location: Huyton, Liverpool
Re: Where do I fit a Fuse
« Reply #11 on: September 02, 2012, 11:54:36 AM »

get them off the wife too - but that's a short fuse problem  {-)

Dave
Logged

Nordlys

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 600
  • Location: Kent.
Re: Where do I fit a Fuse
« Reply #12 on: September 02, 2012, 11:58:29 AM »

Yeh- I know  too much resistance.

N
Logged

DickyD

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9,497
  • www.srcmbc.org.uk
  • Location: Southampton UK
    • SRCMBC
Re: Where do I fit a Fuse
« Reply #13 on: September 02, 2012, 12:28:28 PM »

Link doesnt work for me Dude.

Disappointed in you my man
Logged
Richard Solent Radio Controlled Model Boat Club http://www.srcmbc.org.uk

ACTion

  • Guest
Re: Where do I fit a Fuse
« Reply #14 on: September 02, 2012, 12:41:15 PM »

All I did was cut and paste the link, matey - don't blame me for severing it!
What it said was that you should always fit a fuse between the ESC and battery and that it's also a good idea to fit one between the ESC and the motor.
DM
Logged

Tug-Kenny

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7,680
  • Location: Newport. S Wales
Re: Where do I fit a Fuse
« Reply #15 on: September 02, 2012, 04:56:39 PM »


I've not know one of our links to fail before. %)

Would you mind terribly if you could name the topic and give the number of the post please.  :}

Logged
Despite the high cost of living   .......... It remains popular

malcolmfrary

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5,532
  • Location: Blackpool, Lancs, UK
Re: Where do I fit a Fuse
« Reply #16 on: September 02, 2012, 05:21:22 PM »

If its a single battery, single ESC and single motor, a single fuse of lower rating than the ESC will do the job.
If multiple motors are to be run in parallel from one ESC, then one fuse per motor between the ESC and motors rated to carry expected motor current will provide distributed protection.  You still need the fuse between battery and ESC to protect the boat from bad behavior in the ESC.
Logged
"With the right tool, you can break anything" - Garfield

Nordlys

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 600
  • Location: Kent.
Re: Where do I fit a Fuse
« Reply #17 on: September 02, 2012, 06:24:37 PM »

Thanks Malcolm.
Looks like I'm possibly heading towards using two fuses - is that OTT?
I do like those P95 units from Action Elect though, neat, compact.

I have been making up my own using Halfords bits but they do get bulky.
Some members at my club sail without fuses at all - I guess thats just
taking a chance attitude.
Cheers
N....
Logged

ACTion

  • Guest
Re: Where do I fit a Fuse
« Reply #18 on: September 02, 2012, 06:28:26 PM »

I've not know one of our links to fail before. %)

Would you mind terribly if you could name the topic and give the number of the post please.  :}


Ken ~
There were about four identical threads all going at once. I posted a reply to one and then copied the URL to the others. That's all I can tell you.
Dave
Logged

Nordlys

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 600
  • Location: Kent.
Re: Where do I fit a Fuse
« Reply #19 on: September 02, 2012, 06:33:21 PM »

Dave,
It might have been me posting 3 times on same topic due to a Gateway timeout
error.
Didn't think my posts were getting through at the time - then all 3 appeared

Nordlys...


Yes I remember deleting them. Hence their total loss.  Not to worry. We got there in the end.  :}

ken
Logged

ACTion

  • Guest
Re: Where do I fit a Fuse
« Reply #20 on: September 02, 2012, 06:39:15 PM »

Dave,
It might have been me posting 3 times on same topic due to a Gateway timeout
error.
Didn't think my posts were getting through at the time - then all 3 appeared

Nordlys...

As long as the information has got where it needed to go then I don't think it matters greatly. Liz often has to say things at least three times before I acknowledge her, but these generally include words like "gardening" and "housework" so they're fair game for "cockin' a deaf 'n".
I didn't get where I am today by pushing a vaccuum cleaner   8)
DM
Logged

Nordlys

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 600
  • Location: Kent.
Re: Where do I fit a Fuse
« Reply #21 on: September 02, 2012, 06:48:19 PM »

Anyway, once you've finished vacuuming tomorrow i will be
phoning for a couple of P95's just to break the drudgery.....

Nordlys.
Logged

Martin [Admin]

  • Administrator
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18,939
  • Location: Peterborough, UK
    • Model Boat Mayhem
Re: Best place to fit a fuse....
« Reply #22 on: September 02, 2012, 09:46:03 PM »

 
Topics merged   :-)
Logged
"This is my firm opinion, but what do I know?!"    -   Mayhem FaceBook Group!

Nordlys

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 600
  • Location: Kent.
Re: Best place to fit a fuse....
« Reply #23 on: September 02, 2012, 10:11:17 PM »

Martin,
Where did my thread go to please?
You have posted 'topics merged' - i'm lost ?

Nordlys
Logged

Stavros

  • Guest
Re: Best place to fit a fuse....
« Reply #24 on: September 02, 2012, 10:18:08 PM »

Come on scroll  up and you will find there was another thread running about fuses and all Martin has done is to combine your with the other reason is simple really to save server bandwidth


Dave
Logged
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up