Model Boat Mayhem - Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Hollow Masts - to take wires.  (Read 4548 times)

sinjon

  • Sinjon
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 351
  • Model Bioat Mayhem Forum is the Best!
  • Location: Stoke-sub-Hamdon, Somerset, TA14 6UF
Hollow Masts - to take wires.
« on: April 24, 2007, 11:51:53 AM »

I have broken the mast (in many places) on my Model Slipway Yorkshireman. I have telephoned Model Slipway, but it seems they cannot do a replacement. So I am now going to have to try and make one, OK if it was a straight tube, but of course its tapered.
The height is 270mm, at the bottom its 7mm dia. at the top 5mm. Does anyone have a clue how to make a hollow tapered tube?

Colin
Logged
Colin

norry

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 824
  • ...Get Your Tugs Out For The Bouys...
  • Location: Paisley Scotland
Re: Hollow Masts - to take wires.
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2007, 12:45:16 PM »

            ...Hi sinjon...

The mast on my tug "SCOTCH PRIDE" is made from .....Dont Laugh until you,ve tried it...... McDonalds McFlurry Spoons...

They are Tapered...They are Hollow...They can be joined to make a longer mast...The mast can be made to fold back, just like a real tug...
Here is a picture of my tug at Balne Moor Last Week...
If you need any more pictures or information just let me know...

...All The Best...Norry...
Logged
...Get Your Tugs Out For The Buoys...

tonyH

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,262
  • Model Boat Mayhem Forum is the Best!
  • Location: Suffolk, England
Re: Hollow Masts - to take wires.
« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2007, 12:47:12 PM »

Hello Colin,

One of the easiest ways is length of fishing rod.  Some of the tackle shops have odds and ends and it's just a case of finding the right bit.
You can also do stepped masts by sliding one inside another.
Fibreglass tends to be better than carbon but it depends how careless you are!

Tony H
Logged

HS93 (RIP)

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,949
  • I cannot spell , tough
  • Location: Rainhill UK
Re: Hollow Masts - to take wires.
« Reply #3 on: April 24, 2007, 02:02:20 PM »

Most model shops stock k+s brass tube they make it in sizes that enable you to telescope it you may need about 3 or 4 Pisces but there will be enough to make a few extra , It allways comes in handy anyway you can glue it or solder if you solder you can use the tube as negative and run plenty of wires down it ,it is also easy to repair.

 they do round and square tube

Peter
Logged

sinjon

  • Sinjon
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 351
  • Model Bioat Mayhem Forum is the Best!
  • Location: Stoke-sub-Hamdon, Somerset, TA14 6UF
Re: Hollow Masts - to take wires.
« Reply #4 on: April 24, 2007, 04:14:40 PM »

OK - Thanks guys, but I don't know if I have the nerve to go into Mac's and ask for a handfull of Flurry spoons, perhaps mention it to my grandson, although I do like the idea!  Fishing rod - now there is possibly a very easy way to go, Yellow Pages beckon! but I really like the brass tube solution, maybe cut a cross down vertically on the tube, perhaps about 50mm, that would allow you to give a gentle taper. 3 pieces at 90mm, I only have to lose 2mm between top and bottom, bit of filler - ummmmm

Thanks again

Colin
Logged
Colin

Peterm

  • Inactive
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 419
  • Location: Southam,Warwickshire
Re: Hollow Masts - to take wires.
« Reply #5 on: April 24, 2007, 04:22:46 PM »

Another alternative is to cut down an old telescopic Tx antenna.   Pete M
Logged
I`m not just old, I`m ancient

sinjon

  • Sinjon
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 351
  • Model Bioat Mayhem Forum is the Best!
  • Location: Stoke-sub-Hamdon, Somerset, TA14 6UF
Re: Hollow Masts - to take wires.
« Reply #6 on: April 24, 2007, 04:43:34 PM »

Interesting thought Peter, trouble is, when the Aerial comes off (could be an old radio) I have always just thrown it away - next time into my treasure box.
I have just looked in the Squires catalogue, and of course they do brass tubing in 300mm lengths - 2mm to 10mm, and as they say, each size telescopes with the size above or below -  5/6/7mm - for me perfect. (and a bit of spare)

Colin
Logged
Colin

DickyD

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9,497
  • www.srcmbc.org.uk
  • Location: Southampton UK
    • SRCMBC
Re: Hollow Masts - to take wires.
« Reply #7 on: April 24, 2007, 04:55:19 PM »

Just a thought sinjon do you still have your old mast and if so what is its inside diameter. Is it large enough to run a copper or brass tube up the inside ?

Richard ;)
Logged
Richard Solent Radio Controlled Model Boat Club http://www.srcmbc.org.uk

sinjon

  • Sinjon
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 351
  • Model Bioat Mayhem Forum is the Best!
  • Location: Stoke-sub-Hamdon, Somerset, TA14 6UF
Re: Hollow Masts - to take wires.
« Reply #8 on: April 24, 2007, 09:00:45 PM »

Yes thanks Richard, the inside is full of bits of wood and epoxy, already had a bundle of repairs, a no go area.  Thanks anyway.

Colin
Logged
Colin

Colin Bishop

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10,231
  • Location: SW Surrey, UK
Re: Hollow Masts - to take wires.
« Reply #9 on: April 24, 2007, 09:17:50 PM »

Funnily enough Sinjon,  I was in Squires last week and bought two sets of 4 brass tubes of different base dimensions.  As you say each size telescopes into the size above and is a very snug fit. Nice stuff, and not too expensive either.
Logged

tonyH

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,262
  • Model Boat Mayhem Forum is the Best!
  • Location: Suffolk, England
Re: Hollow Masts - to take wires.
« Reply #10 on: April 24, 2007, 09:38:18 PM »

The beauty of the fishing rods is that they're already tapered and, fortunately, there are loads of really unlucky, shall we say, anglers about so broken rods are relatively available and cheap.

Tony
Logged

norry

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 824
  • ...Get Your Tugs Out For The Bouys...
  • Location: Paisley Scotland
Re: Hollow Masts - to take wires.
« Reply #11 on: April 24, 2007, 10:30:10 PM »

              ...Hi sinjon...

Is your mast round or sqaure...

I think the Mc Flurry Spoons are an excellent idea...With the added bonus that after you have gone into McDonalds & ordered yourself & your family a McFflurry each,(A McFlurry is an ice cream desert) You then all have the pleasure of having to eat the ice cream treat before you get the spoons for your boat...
This is also in keeping with Recycling nowadays as you are not throwing the plastic spoons in the bin, You are Recycling them into a mast for your boat...

Go on Go on Go on Go on...You Know You Want To...Regards...Norry...
Logged
...Get Your Tugs Out For The Buoys...

FullLeatherJacket

  • Guest
Re: Hollow Masts - to take wires.
« Reply #12 on: April 24, 2007, 11:24:38 PM »

Sinjon
I've just checked the plans for Yorkshireman and there are two distinct sections to the mast, separated by a white-metal casting. The lower section is 6mm O/D while the upper one is 5mm i.e. they are both parallel in themselves - they don't taper. That being the case them you should have no problems using telescoping brass sections, which is the way I would go.
I'm pretty sure that Slipway would sell you the various white-metal castings which go up the mast at a reasonable price. There are numerous lights and platforms.
Suit yourself.
FLJ
Logged

sinjon

  • Sinjon
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 351
  • Model Bioat Mayhem Forum is the Best!
  • Location: Stoke-sub-Hamdon, Somerset, TA14 6UF
Re: Hollow Masts - to take wires.
« Reply #13 on: April 25, 2007, 08:20:02 AM »

Hello FLJ

I have just put my vernier on the mast to double check, the top section is carried on a bridging piece between the two funnels, and is 7mm at the base and really does taper to 5mm at the top. Its a white plastic tube, but Model Slipway tell me its a Dowel.
I am going the Squires way with brass tubing, but I was hoping to be able to get the original fittings off the old mast, it depends how much a new set would cost.
Logged
Colin
Pages: [1]   Go Up