Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: plasti card  (Read 2630 times)

antuk

plasti card
« on: April 25, 2007, 09:56:34 pm »

plasti card.
this might sound a daft question . but what is it .?
im build HMS Lion 1939 at a 6 foot no idea what scale this is .
all my previous models have been stand of scale as per the model boat mag plans you no the sort any way im now going up in size and think that lion might need a bit more attention . where do i get plasticard from how big are the sheets and how much does it cost ? is it easy to use what glue (ok ok im old and new to this . ok you guys get the idea im a total newbie to this . so any help advice is very much apprciated . thanks in advance to you.
 ??? ??? ??? ???

DavidHale

Re: plasti card
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2007, 11:18:52 pm »

Plastic card is know as several things - Styrene, HIPS (High Impact Polystyrene Sheet), etc.  Basically it is the stuff that Airfix kits are made out of, but in sheet form.
It is available in a wide variety of thickness' and sizes, from around 20 thou (0.5mm) upwards, and sheet sizes upto around 4' x 2'.

Glueing is simple with any of the liquid glues (solvents) available from hobby stores made specifically for styrene, typically being dychloromethane based.

Prices vary from place to place, but as a guide I normally pay £3 or so for a sheet of 1330mm x 600mm x 1mm.

Hope this helps, but feel free to ask any other questions and I'll do my best to answer.  :)

Roger in France

« Reply #2 on: April 26, 2007, 06:19:28 am »

Plasticard can often be bought in a range of sheet sizes. "Evergreen" is a well known make and they supply hobby stores with a display stand containing a range of sheet thicknesses and sizes.