Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: electric motor equivalent to a 46 I.C Engine  (Read 3134 times)

marklincs

• Shipmate
  • Not Sunk Yet!
electric motor equivalent to a 46 I.C Engine
« on: August 05, 2012, 02:25:29 pm »

All,

I have a Fireboat Aerokits I'm refurbing and Research has revelled I could ideally do with an electric motor equivalent to a 46 I.C motor

Thinking Brushless and do not mind out runners either, then a decent ESC to handle it all.  Prop needs to be a 2Blade X type 45mm

anyone got an recommendations ?

dodgy geezer

• Full Mayhemer
Re: electric motor equivalent to a 46 I.C Engine
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2012, 06:35:04 pm »

Hmm - I've never worked up at that power before, but it's worth putting some estimate figures together so that you can check that you are in the right ball park. Here are my guesses:

A 46 motor puts out about 1.5HP. That's about 1KW. You would be using 1KW if you had a motor running at 20V taking 50A. Modern brushless are pretty efficient, so go for a 60-70A motor at 20V - a 6S. Pro Rata for lower voltages. You should be able to get one from Giant Shark for £40 odd. Here's one at £33 - but I don't know enough about the KVA implications to know it it will be any good - 5000rpm may be a bit slow....

http://www.giantshark.co.uk/xyh6354-250kv-outrunner-p-404607.html

barriew

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2012, 08:20:16 pm »

The fireboats web site used to have details of one with a brushless motor - can't remember now if it the 46" version, but it was certainly fast. I saw it in action at one of the Fireboat Fun Days held by the Burton on Trent club. In fact, Burton are having another of those this September 9th. A good place to get advice about your re-furb.

Barrie

bj

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #3 on: October 19, 2012, 02:32:07 pm »

All,